GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Ashton in Makerfield

Archives and libraries
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Probate Records
Ashton-in-Makerfield, town, par., and township, SW. Lancashire, 2½ miles NW. of Newton Bridge ry. sta. and 7 miles NW. of Warrington -- par., 8659 ac., pop. 15,687; township, 6250 ac., pop. 9824; P.O., T.O. Extensive collieries, cotton-mills, and potteries are here. The township has long been famous for the mfr. of hinges, locks, files, and nails.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Ashton in Makerfield and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashton in Makerfield.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ashton in Makerfield area is Wigan & Leigh.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashton-in-Makerfield to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ashton in Makerfield was a township in the parish of Winwick.

Maps

View maps of Ashton in Makerfield and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashton in Makerfield was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:33 BST - Phil Stringer]