GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Aspull

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Probate Records
ASPULL, a township and a subdistrict in Wigan district, Lancashire. The township is in Wigan-parish, 3 miles NE of Wigan; and has a post office, of the name of Aspull-Moor, under Wigan. Acres, 1,879. Real property, £27,184; of which £19,863 are in mines. Pop., 4,290. Houses, 783. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in collieries and cotton mills. There are a school-church, Independent, Wesleyan, and Roman Catholic chapels, and four public schools. The subdistrict comprises three townships. Pop., 8,372. Houses, 1,534.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aspull.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aspull area is Wigan & Leigh.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aspull to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Aspull was a township in the parish of Wigan.

History

A description of Aspull in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Aspull and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aspull was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:35 BST - Phil Stringer]