GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Barton

This is the Barton near Broughton. There is also a Barton on Irwell in Lancashire.

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
BARTON, a township in Preston parish, and a chapelry in Preston, Kirkham, Lancaster, and Garstang parishes, Lancashire. The township has a station on the Northwestern railway, 5½ miles N-of Preston. Acres, 2,536. Real property, £3,782. Pop., 343. Houses, 67. Barton Hall and Barton Lodge are within the limits. The chapelry was constituted in 1850; and its Post Town is Preston. Pop., 886. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £120.* Patron, R. Jacson, Esq., and G. Marton, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Barton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Barton area is Preston and South Ribble

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Barton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Barton was a township in the parish of Preston.

Maps

View maps of Barton and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Barton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:39 BST - Phil Stringer]