GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Bedford

Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Probate Records
BEDFORD, a township and a chapelry in Leigh parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Tyldesley and Kenyon branch railway, 1 mile ENE of Leigh; and has a station on the railway. Post Town, Leigh, under Manchester. Acres, 2,438. Real property, £11,144. Pop., 6,558. Houses, 1,323. The property is much subdivided. There are cotton and silk mills, an iron foundry, collieries, and brickfields. The chapelry is conterminate with the township; and was constituted in 1842. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Vicar of Leigh. The church is recent; and there are Methodist and Roman Catholic chapels and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bedford.

Church History

St Thomas with All Saints church.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bedford area is Wigan and Leigh.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bedford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bedford was a township in the parish of Leigh.

Maps

View maps of Bedford and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bedford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:40 BST - Phil Stringer]