Blackley
|
|
|
|
BLACKLEY, a village, two chapelries, and a subdistrict, in Manchester parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irk, near the Manchester and Leeds railway, 3 miles N of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester, and a police station. The chapelries are B. and B.-St. Andrew. Acres, 1,764. Real property, £10,955. Pop., 4,112. Houses, 838. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton manufactures and in extensive dye-works. The livings are rectories. Value of B., £182.* B. church was rebuilt in 1835; and is in the early English style, with a fine tower. St. A. church was built in 1866. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a mechanics' institution, a Church institute, public schools, and a reformatory. The subdistrict includes also Harpurhey township.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackley.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

