GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Bradford

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Directories
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
Societies
BRADFORD, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles E of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 279. Pop., 3,523. Houses, 707. The chapelry extends into Beswick township; bears the name of Bradford-cum-Beswick; and was constituted very recently. The statistics are not reported. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester, with a parsonage, and in the patronage of the Bishop. The church was built in 1862, at a cost of £6,000; and is in the early English style, and cruciform. There are Wesleyan and Free Methodist chapels, large schools built in 1864, at a cost of £3,000, and a police station.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradford.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bradford area is Manchester.

Directories

Names extracted from the Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bradford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bradford was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Bradford in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Bradford and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bradford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:46 BST - Phil Stringer]