Burrow with Burrow

Select map to view larger area
BURROW-WITH-BURROW, a township in Tunstall parish, Lancashire; on the river Lune, 2 miles SE of Kirkby-Lonsdale. Acres, 2,290. Real property, £2,737. Pop., 225. Houses, 38. The Roman station Bremetonacum is thought to have been here; Roman pavements, altars, inscriptions, urns, and coins have been found; and a Roman milestone is on the road. Burrow Hall is the seat of the Parrs.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Burrow with Burrow.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Burrow with Burrow area is Lancaster.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Burrow with Burrow to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Burrow with Burrow was a township in the parish of Tunstall.

Maps

View maps of Nether Burrow and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Burrow with Burrow was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.