Church Coniston
|
|
|
|
CONISTON (Church), a township-chapelry in Ulverstone parish, Lancashire; containing the town, the railway station, and the post office of Coniston, under Windermere. Acres, 7, 210. Real property, £8,631; of which £4,875 are in mines, and £127 in quarries. Pop., 1,324. Houses, 260. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged anciently to the Urswicks; and passed by marriage, in the time of Henry III., to the Flemings. Coniston Hall, some time a ruin, now a re-fitted picturesque farm-house, about a mile south of the town, was the residence of the Flemings till the middle of the 17th century. The area of the chapelry includes the Coniston copper-mines, and a large portion of Coniston fells. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £117.* Patron, the Rev. A. Peache. The church is a plain, oblong edifice, with a small unsightly tower.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Coniston and the surrounding area.- The Book of Coniston, by W. G. Collingwood, 3rd edition 1906.
- The Story of Coniston, written and published by Alastair Cameron & Elizabeth Brown, 2002.
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Coniston.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

