Coppull
|
|
|
|
COPPULL, a township and a chapelry in Standish parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Wigan and Preston railway, 6 miles N by W of Wigan; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Chorley. Acres, 2,279. Real property, £6,152; of which £1,950 are in mines. Pop., 1,230. Houses, 218. The chapelry was constituted in 1842; and was at first more extensive than the township, with a pop. of upwards of 2,000; but is now conterminate with the township. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, £120. Patron, the Rector of Standish. The church was rebuilt in 1861. There is a Wesleyan chapel, a national school, and charities £44.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Coppull and the surrounding area.- 'Coppull Memories' (now out of print) by Keith Lees & Geoff Bellis. This is A Countryside Publication ISBN 0 86157 203 3. It is a photographic collection. The co-author Geoff Bellis holds the full collection (in ring binders) from which these were chosen. He lends them to local people, inviting them to add names that are missing.
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Coppull.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

