Edgworth
|
|
|
|
EDGEWORTH, a township and a sub-district in Bolton parish, Lancashire. The township lies near the Bolton and Blackburn railway, 7½ miles NNW of Bolton. Acres, 2,480. Real property, £4,378; of which £465 are in quarries. Pop., 1,350. Houses, 273. There are a cotton-mill, a school-church, Independent chapels of 1822 and 1867, and a Wesleyan chapel of 1863. The sub-district includes two other townships. Acres, 4,430. Pop., 2,025. Houses, 406.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Edgworth.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Edgworth area is Blackburn.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Edgworth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Edgworth was a township in the parish of Bolton.The village now lies within the boundaries of North Turton Parish Council along with the villages of Belmont, Chapeltown, Entwistle and Quarlton. North Turton is part of Blackburn with Darwen Borough.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

