Elswick

Select map to view larger area
ELSWICK, a township in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles N of Kirkham. Acres, 1,009. Real property, £1,845. Pop., 290. Houses, 65. There is an Independent chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Elswick.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Elswick area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Elswick to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Elswick was a township in the parish of StMichaels.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Elswick and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Elswick was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.