Farington
|
|
|
|
FARRINGTON, a township and a chapelry in Penwortham parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Lostock, and on the Preston and Wigan railway, 4 miles S of Preston; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Preston. Acres, 1,786. Real property, £7,174. Pop., 1,791. Houses, 311. The property is divided among a few. Farrington House and Farrington Lodge are chief residences. Part of the land is marshy. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton mills. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1843. Pop., 2,292. Houses, 407. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £120. Patron, the Incumbent of Penwortham. The church is modern. There is a free school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Leyland library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Farington.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

