Higher Booths

Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
BOOTHS (Higher), a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Manchester and Accrington railway, near the Baxenden station, 5 miles SSW of Burnley. Acres, 2,000. Real property, £21,097; of which £6,189 are in mines. Pop., 5,131. Houses, 968. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in cotton factories and in collieries.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Higher Booths.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Higher Booths area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Higher Booths to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Higher Booths was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Higher Booths and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Higher Booths was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.