Hulme
|
|
|
|
HULME, a township, eight parochial chapelries, and a sub-district, in Manchester parish and Chorlton district, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Irwell and on the Manchester and Altrincham railway, at the termination of the Bridgewater canal, 1¼ mile SW of the centre of Manchester; and is all within Manchester borough, and under the Manchester police. Acres, 440. Real property, £240,913; of which £77,916 are in the canal. Pop. in 1851, 53,482; in 1861, 68,433. Houses, 13,487. The increase of pop. arose from participation in the prosperity and extension of Manchester.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) more ...
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hulme.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Hulme area is Manchester.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Hulme to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Hulme was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

