Little Heaton
|
|
|
|
HEATON (LITTLE), a township in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; contiguous to Great Heaton, 5 miles N of Manchester. It was called, till about a century ago, Heaton-Fallowfield. Acres, 509. Real property, £1,915. Pop., 838. Houses, 161. The manor belonged to the Hollands, and passed to the Egertons. About one half of the property belongs now to the Earl of Wilton. A farm house, called Old Hall, occupies the site of Old Heaton Hall. There is a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Heaton.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Little Heaton area is Manchester.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Little Heaton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Little Heaton was a township in the parish of Prestwich.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

