Liverpool

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Description and Travel
Genealogy
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Select map to view larger area
Maps
Military History
Military Records
Newspapers
Occupations
Poor Houses, Poor Law
Probate Records
Schools
Societies
Town Records
Voting Registers

It stands on the Mersey, and by its position, and wealth, has become the second port in the kingdom. It is, on the whole, a very handsome and commodious town; and the public buildings are numerous, and highly ornamental to it. The churches, the municipal edifices, the custom-house, the exchange, the charitable institutions, the markets, and the theatres, seem to have been constructed for the gratification of taste, as well as for their various and peculiar uses. But the docks are the most remarkable feature of the town; and the construction of them has enabled it to take its distinguished position in the commerce of the world. Its inland trade is aided by the rivers Irwell and Weaver, by the canals, and by the railroads, which converge there. It is 206 miles from London. Population, 286,487.

(From Barclay's Complete and Universal Dictionary of 1842.)

Archives and Libraries

Liverpool Record Office
City Libraries,
William Brown Street,
LIVERPOOL,
Merseyside,
L3 8EW
Tel: 0151 233 5817
E-mail: RecOffice.central.library@Liverpool.gov.uk

Cemeteries

Liverpool Cemeteries Office (North)
The Lodge
Priory Road
Liverpool 4

Mike Faulkner is building a searchable database of St James Cemetery.

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Liverpool.

Residents of the Liverpool Sheltering Home taken from the 1891 census.

Church History

Liverpool Anglican Cathedral, and a picture of the exterior, and the interior.

Caryl Williams has produced a list of Liverpool churches with details of when they were founded.

A listing of churches in 1902, taken from Gores Directory.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

There is a list detailing records of Catholic Churches in Liverpool.

The names of the Brides and Grooms extracted from the parish register of St.Mary's, Kirkdale, Liverpool, 1874-1883, as filmed by the LDS, on film #1545938.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Liverpool area is Liverpool.

Description and Travel

Some pictures of Liverpool.

Information about the Canning area of the city.

Genealogy

ENG-LIVERPOOL is a mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in the City of Liverpool, and surrounding areas.

The Merseyside Genealogy and History Forum has many topics and threads, look ups, Merseyside ancestors, Mersey Mariners and more and they also have a Merseyside Surnames board.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Liverpool to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Liverpool was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.

History

A description of Liverpool in times past.

"The Sights and Sounds of our City", an essay about the livelihood of the poor in 19th century Liverpool.

Local history from Mike Royden.

Maps

View maps of Liverpool and places within its boundaries.

Military History

The Liverpool Scottish Regiment.

Military Records

Regimental HQ
Liverpool Kings Regiment
Derby Square
Liverpool.

Newspapers

Caryl Williams has provided a number of items culled from Liverpool Mercury newspapers dated 1811-1943.

Various Merseyside newspaper extracts.

Occupations

LIVERPOOL PHOTOGRAPHERS. A database of Liverpool, England photo studios, to help you date photographs taken in this area.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The 19th Century Poor Law in Liverpool and its Hinterland: Towards the Origins of the Workhouse Infirmary.

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Liverpool workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Liverpool was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Schools

Information about Liverpool schools.

Societies

Liverpool & SW Lancs FHS are the society covering the Liverpool area.

Town Records

Mayors of Liverpool since 1292.

Voting Registers

Liverpool Poll Book 1832.