Moss Side
|
|
|
|
MOSS-SIDE, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The village lies 2 miles S by E of Manchester, is neatly built, and has an ornamental public park. The township comprises 430 acres. Real property, £20,039. Pop. in 1851, 943; in 1861, 2,695. Houses, 435. The increase of pop. arose mainly from the extension of buildings and other improvements. The chapelry is much larger than the township, and was constituted in 1854. Pop. in 1861, 6,114. Houses, 1,114. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £717. Patrons, the Representatives of R. Gardiner, Esq. The church is modern. There are national and other schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Moss Side.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Moss Side area is Manchester.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Moss Side to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Moss Side was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

