Much Hoole

Select map to view larger area
Much Hoole, township and vil. (ry. sta. Hoole), Hoole par., N. Lancashire, 7 miles SW. of Preston, 1776 ac. (30 water), pop. 581; P.O.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Much Hoole.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Much Hoole area is Preston and South Ribble

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Much Hoole to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Much Hoole was a township in the parish of Hoole. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of Much Hoole and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Much Hoole was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.