Pendleton
|
|
|
|
PENDLETON, a suburban town, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Salford district, Lancashire. The town is suburban to Manchester; lies on the Manchester and Bolton railway, near Peel Park, contiguous to the W side of Salford, 2 miles W N W of Manchester: contains very many genteel residences; carries on industry in cotton and flax mills, and in dye and print-works; and has a railway station with telegraph, a post-office, under Manchester, a town hall, and numerous places of worship, and public schools. The town hall was built in 1866, at a cost of about £9,000; is in the Italian style, with assimilation to French; and contains an assembly-room, 85 feet long, 39½ feet wide, and 30 feet high. The churches are St. Thomas', rebuilt in 1831, and Sts. Paul, George, James, Anne, and Luke, built in 1856-65 at costs of £5,000, £5,000, £8,500, £1,500, and £6,500. A New Connexion Methodist chapel was built in 1863, at a cost of £2,500; and has a Corinthian portico. Independent school-rooms were erected in 1865, at a cost of £2,400; are in the geometric pointed style; and includea central hall, 60 feet long and 40 feet wide. Very handsome Wesleyan schools were erected in 1863, at a cost of £3500. The township comprises 1,720 acres; and is in the parish of Eccles, and the borough of Salford. Real property, £85,080; of which £2,186 are in mines, and £1,024 in ironworks. Pop. in 1851, 14,244; in 1861, 20,900. Houses, 3,906. Coal exists in seams of 7 feet thick and under, and is largely worked. The chapelry includes but a portion of the township, and was constituted in 1860. Pop. in 1861, 5,361. Houses, 984. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £344. Patron, the Vicar of Eccles. The sub-district comprises the townships of Pendleton and Pendlebury. Acres, 2,650. Pop., 24,448. Houses, 4,578.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pendleton.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

