Tonge

Select map to view larger area
TONGE, a township and a chapelry in Prestwich parish, Lancashire. The township lies around Middleton r. station, adjacent to the SE side of Middleton. Post town, Middleton, under Manchester. Acres, 367. Real property, £10,774; of which £300 are in mines, £39 in ironworks, and £1,116 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 3,831; in 1861, 4,606. Houses, 953. The increase of pop. arose from extension of the cotton trade, and from erection of silk manufactories. The property is subdivided. The chapelry includes Alkrington township, and was constituted in 1835. Pop., 5,029. Houses, 1,030. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Rector of Prestwich. The church was built in 1839.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tonge.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tonge area is Rochdale.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tonge to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Tonge was a township in the parish of Oldham.

History

A description of Tonge in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Tonge and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tonge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.