Tonge with Haulgh
|
|
|
|
TONGE, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Bolton parish and district, Lancashire. The township lies 1¼ mile NE of Bolton r. station. Post town, Bolton. Acres, with Haulgh, 1,030. Real property, with Haulgh, £11,421; of which £800 are in mines and £375 in railways. Pop. of T. alone, 1,521. Houses, 287. The property is divided among a few. Cotton manufacture is carried on. Two kistvaens, an earthen urn, and some ancient armour were found in a barrow in 1821. The chapelry was constituted in 1845. Pop., 2,884. Houses, 524. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £187. Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop. The church is modern. Charities, £37. The sub-district contains four townships. Acres, 3,100. Pop., 7,156. Houses, 1,426.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Tonge with Haulgh.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

