Toxteth Park

Select map to view larger area
Toxteth Park, town and par., SW. Lancashire - par. (wholly within the parl. limits of Liverpool), 3598 ac. (1284 water), pop. 117,028; town, on S. side of Liverpool, 1500 ac., pop. 10,308.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Toxteth Park.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Toxteth Park area is Liverpool.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Toxteth Park to another place.

Maps

View maps of Toxteth Park and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Toxteth workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Toxteth Park was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.