Denbighshire
Contents
Parishes
Llanddulas
Until 1878, Llanddulas consisted of the two townships of Tre'r Llan and Tre'r Cefn, containing 606 acres. In 1878, by an Order in Council, 636 acres were taken from the parish of Abergele and added to the parish of Llanddulas.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 908782.
The church was founded by St. Cynfryd; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254.
The list of Rectors dates from 1284.
The early church building was ruined by a great storm in 1732; when a new building was erected. By 1868, this was itself "in a ruinous state", and was demolished.
The foundation stone of the present church was laid on 2 July 1868, and the Bishop of St. Asaph consecrated the church on Monday, 24 May 1869.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanddulas :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bethesda
|
Baptists
|
78
|
| Beulah
|
Calvinistic Methodists
|
92
|
| Caersalem
|
Congregationalists
|
157
|
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1761 - 1947 |
1755 - 1971 |
1761 - 1941 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1665 - 1812 |
1665 - 1812 |
1665 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1665 - 1839 |
1682 - 1839 |
I.G.I.
-
There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cynfryd, Llanddulas.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanddulas was assigned to the No. 2 ("Abergele") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanddulas are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII.nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b.nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Population
- In 1831- the population was 307.
- In 1901- the population was 788.
[Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 606 acres until 1878, in which year 635 acres were added from the parish of Abergele.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes; and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. |
Last Updated 5 May 2004 - Vic Roberts