United Kingdom and Ireland
- Here is a selected set of recommended general textbooks on UK and Ireland genealogy and
family history. (Books relating to particular regions and topics
will be found listed on other appropriate GENUKI pages under the
relevant headings, elsewhere in this information service.)
- One very useful concise guide to researching British ancestry
at a distance, A-Z of British
Genealogical Research, whose text was prepared for the
Compuserve Genealogy Forum, has been edited for inclusion here by
permission of the author, Dr Ashton Emery.
- The series of Gibson Guides are a
valuable guide to the various different types of genealogical
- The Chapman Record Cameos are
another very useful and authoritative set of guides for both
beginners and more experienced researchers tracing their roots in
England, Scotland, Ireland, the Isle of Man and the Channel
- The Society of
Genealogists provide a set of general "Hints & Tips"::-
Sources, Citations, Documentation And Evaluating Evidence In
Genealogy, by Richard A. Pence.
- Is the
Answer in your Genes? - an an expanded version of the article
by Debbie Kennett first published in Berkshire Family Historian in
- Chris Pomery's DNA & Family History
Genealogy - an annotated bibliography
Really Useful Sources - "prepared for the benefit of newcomers
to family history and to the Manchester and Lancashire FHS"
- There are a large number of listings of the surnames being
researched by various Internet users. Details can be found under
"Genealogy" on the appropriate GENUKI county pages, and there is
also a listing of all the Surname
- UK Family History
Online - on-line records compiled by Family History Societies.
As of October 2006 there were 64 million accessible records, though
not all societies provide access to their records via this
- The Origins Network - a
subscription service, that, in cooperation with the Society of
Genealogists, provides online access to "comprehensive and
exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the
13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books."
- Ancestry.co.uk - a
subscription service offering online access to a very large
collection of records: census, BMD, probate, etc.
- FindMyPast -
Previously known as 1837Online, FindMyPast enables subscribers to
perform online searches of "military records, census, migration,
occupation directories, and current electoral roll data, as well as
the complete birth, marriage and death indexes."
- Origins UK -
a subscription service that provides access to "a wide range of
in-depth, obscure databases with extensive research guides and
- The Births Deaths &
Marriages Exchange is aims to share information about details
contained on birth, death or marriage certificates registered in
- Researchers may be interested in the Irish and United Kingdom GenWeb
for adopted children and birth parents wanting to contact each
other, provided by ukbirth-adoptionregister.com
- The Global Information
Centre Historical and Genealogical Resources provides links to
some very useful websites.
Finding People - list of useful links from Bedfordshire
- The Encyclopedia of
Genealogy is a "a free-content encyclopedia created by its
readers" (i.e. a specialised, and as yet rather modest, equivalent
which though general in its genealogical scope can be expected to
grow to contain more content of particular relevance to UK
- UK Genealogy
Online provides access to a number of indexes, some free and
some on a subscription or paid basis, with a number of trading
names and websites, specialising in Wales.
- Family History
UK is "the latest FREE UK family tree, genealogy and ancestry
community portal website, connecting ancestors and living relatives
all over the UK".
- Lookup UK -
"Resource Centre for finding that Lost Friend or Relative in the
- Stephen van Dulken's listing of Free Databases for Genealogical
- The Original
Record - a (subscription) search service based on 2500 "rare
and Interesting genealogy sources . . . containing over 10 million
entries relating to families in the British isles and
Databases UK - a free service, containing two databases: the
General Historical Database (GHD), and the Photographed Monuments
and Inscriptions Database (PMID), with information (100,000 items
as of October 2006) from photographed gravestones, family Bibles,
memorial cards, parish magazines, various school, church, and
military publications, as well as other documents and
- Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon
England (PASE) - "a database which aims to cover all of the
recorded inhabitants of England from the late sixth to the end of
the eleventh century", provided by Kings Colege London and the
University of Cambridge.
- British Family
Bibles - "Many bibles contain important genealogical material.
However in Britain many of these bibles have been (and still are
being) destroyed at an alarming rate, since booksellers can only
sell them as bibles - not as genealogy. . . [The purpose] of this
site: To transcribe and add to this site the records from British
Family Bibles as they become available; To acquire unwanted British
family bibles and transcribe their contents - we seek contact with
booksellers and other people who happen across these bibles; To
offer for sale family bibles as available."
- UKGDL - "genealogical
directories and lists on-line for UK family history and
Familypedia - a large general semantic wiki for genealogy, now
containing a growing amount of material related to the UK &
- Genhound - a
subscription service, with an online searchable database of
information from old UK directories, parish registers, sessions,
occupational, property and borough records, local histories,
Reunited - "The UK's largest family tree and ancestry website"
- Family Search - from
the LDS: "the largest collection of free family history, family
tree and genealogy records in the world"
OneWorldTree - "gathers family trees and family history records
for millions of people, analyzes the birth, death and marriage data
and then displays the most probable matches for your ancestors"
- Family Tree
Registry - "a central repository of descriptive information
about family trees"
- WeRelate -
"the world's largest genealogy wiki with pages for over 350,000
people" (as of June 2007)
- A large number of e-mail
lists exist covering various parts of the country. If your
research interests cover one of these areas, then joining the
appropriate list is highly recommended.
- Curious Fox - a
"village by village contact site for anybody researching family
history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland"
Return to top of page
Find help, report problems, or contribute information .
|Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be
used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions
concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on
individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered
to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation
that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence
threaten its whole future.
[ Last updated:
11 May 2013 - Brian Randell ]