United Kingdom and Ireland
- The National Maritime
Museum provides some very useful material including many online
guides and an extensive collection of online resources which
can be searched or
- National Maritime
Museum Cornwall - holds and provides an online catalogue to the
Bartlett Library of 15,000 maritime reference books.
- Maritime Memorials -
commemorating seafarers and victims of maritime disasters
- Numerous editions of the major reference source
Lloyd's Register of British and Foreign Shipping are available
for download from Google books.
- The National Maritime
Museum in Greenwich has an extensive collection of documents
and pictures related to shipping.
- Mariners. A mailing list for anyone who is researching
their seafaring ancestors. For further details see the
entry on John Fuller's pages, or visit the Mariners list website. This
website provides some very useful guides:
- The Maritime History
Archive has extensive records concerning British seamen, and
trade between Newfoundland and South West England.
- Lloyd's Register:
sources available to historical researchers.
List marine news 1740-1837 - a index compiled by the Guildhall
library and a set of volunteers.
List 1793-1816 - scanned images, made available by Michael Dun,
of the pages of this twice weekly news-sheet, which provided
maritime intelligence and news, particularly on the status of ship
voyages, captures, misadventures and losses.
- Passenger Lists:
Titanic Passengers and Crew.
from Sunderland 10 Sep 1852 to Melbourne.
Webber from Sunderland 31 July 1852 to Melbourne.
Delaval from Berwick upon Tweed on Sept 13th 1852 for London
and on to Port St Philip, Victoria, Australia.
from Liverpool in the summer of 1856 for Victoria, Australia.
Mannering from Liverpool on May 22nd 1849 to New York.
from Plymouth to Adelaide on 1st July 1878 (single male emigrants).
- The Immigrant Ships
Transcribers Guild currently have 281 transcribed passenger
lists on their website.
Historical Maritime Society (HMS) exists to carefully research
and re-enact the exciting times around the year 1805.
- See also National Archives leaflets:
- British British
Maritime History - A set of guides to what is available to
those looking into merchant mariners', naval officers, and seagoing
servants of the East India Company, by Len Barnett.
- An Index
to "Smuggling Days and Smuggling Ways" by H.N. Shore,
1892 (Henry N. Shore, later Lord Teignmouth, was Inspecting Officer
of H.M. Coastguard in the late 19th Century. He gathered the
material for this book from official records of the customs service
and associated organisations, and from his personal
Britain - the story of smuggling in 18th and 19th century
- Bob Sanders' "Tracing British
Seamen & Master Mariners" provides some useful material and
- The Palmer
List of Merchant Vessels is an international listing, but it
includes details of many British ships, both steam and sail.
- Bob Sanders has provided a useful list of links to a wide
variey of online Maritime
- Lighthouse Personnel in
England and Wales and the Channel Islands 1841-1910 includes:-
Table of Keepers; Table of Stations by county and a Location Map of
the lighthouse sites. This material has been provided by Stan
Waight and his team of contributors.
- British Coastguards and Their
Familes - a detailed index to coastguards found mainly in
census records. This material has been provided by Stan Waight and
his team of contributors.
- Marjorie P. Kohli's "Immigration
to Canada" provides links and information of value to those
whose ancestors headed there in the 19th century.
- The British Library guidance on
India Office records on the Maritime Service.
Maritime Museum Archive - "one of the finest collections of
merchant shipping records in the UK".
- Through Mighty Seas -
Merchant Sailing Ships of the NW of England - individual ship
histories, and information on shipbuilders, shipyards, lifeboats,
sea captains and mariners.
- Exeter Local
Maritime Archives Project (ELMAP) - a searchable online
database of references to records with maritime and naval
significance held in local record offices and other archives across
England and Wales.
- Michael Dun's War of
1812: Privateers contains, inter alia, extensive indexes about
British privateers and their crew from National Archives files ADM
7/319 (Letters of Marque), and HCA 25/205 (Ships declarations). His
Register of Letters of Marque against France 1793-1815 provides
indexes of ADM 7/328 [1793-1801] and ADM 7/649 [1803-1815].
See also under Emigration and
Return to top of page
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
|Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be
used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions
concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on
individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered
to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation
that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence
threaten its whole future.
[Last updated: 10
May 2013 - Brian Randell]