Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Administrative Areas of Wales

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Administrative Areas of Wales

The first table below shows the historic counties and their administrative sub-divisions before the first round of changes and lists the successor counties for each, that is the post-change counties which contain some or all of the original county area. The second table shows the counties after the first round of changes and lists their successor unitary authorities. In all cases only the top-tier authority is shown - either the top-tier in a two-tier arrangement or a single tier authority (shown italicised).

Additional information is provided where appropriate and available - the common abbreviation for the area; and the Chapman County Code (CCC), a unique 3 letter code for counties and regions.

For a brief description of the administrative changes in the United Kingdom see - Local Government Changes in the United Kingdom.

The following abbreviations are used in these tables:

(C)County Borough
(U)Unitary Authority

Single-tier local authorities are shown italicised.

The links in the following table are to outline maps showing the location of each county.

Wales - changes of 1974
Historic CountyAbbrevCCCAdministration up to 1974Successor Counties
Anglesey AGYAngleseyGwynedd
Breconshire (1) BREBreconshirePowys
Mid Glamorgan
Caernarvonshire CAECaernarvonshireGwynedd
Carmarthenshire CMNCarmarthenshireDyfed
Denbighshire DENDenbighshireClwyd
Cardiff (C)
Merthyr Tydfil (C)
Swansea (C)
Mid Glamorgan
South Glamorgan
West Glamorgan
Merionethshire MERMerionethshireGwenedd
Newport (C)
Mid Glamorgan
South Glamorgan
Pembrokeshire PEMPembrokeshireDyfed
Radnorshire RADRadnorshirePowys


Wales - changes of 1996
Administration 1974-1996CCCSuccessor Unitary Authorities
ClwydCWDConwy (U)
Denbighshire (U)
Flintshire (U)
Powys (U)
Wrexham (U)
DyfedDFDCardiganshire (U)
Carmarthenshire (U)
Pembrokeshire (U)
GwentGNTBlaenau Gwent (U)
Caerphilly (U)
Monmouthshire (U)
Newport (U)
Torfaen (U)
GwyneddGWNAberconwy and Colwyn (U)
Anglesey (U)
Gwynedd (U)
Mid GlamorganMGMBridgend (U)
Caerphilly (U)
Cardiff (U)
Merthyr Tydfil (U)
Rhondda Cynon Taff (U)
Vale Of Glamorgan (U)
PowysPOWPowys (U)
South GlamorganSGMCardiff (U)
Vale Of Glamorgan (U)
West GlamorganWGMNeath and Port Talbot (U)
Swansea (U)


  1. Also known as Brecnockshire.

© GENUKI and Contributors 1993, 1997

Page created by Phil Lloyd in January 1993. Revised and updated in September 1997 by Brian Pears.