[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]
"BIDDENHAM, a parish in the hundred of Willey, in the county of Bedford, 2 miles to the west of Bedford. It is on the east bank of the river Ouse, which almost surrounds the parish. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Ely, value £100, in the patronage of Lord Dynevor. The church contains a brass of the year 1440, and is dedicated to St. James. It is in the Roman style of architecture, and bears evidence of great antiquity. The spire, which is covered with lead, is partially damaged by fire. In the interior is an altar-piece of tapestry, bearing date 1542, in good preservation."
"CHURCH END, a part of Biddenham, situated ½ mile to the west of Biddenham."
The church of St. James is an edifice of stone, in the Norman and Perpendicular styles, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled central tower with small spire, containing a clock and 6 bells, re-cast and re-hung in 1895 ; cleaned in 1894, and in a fair state of preservation, is a piece of tapestry, bearing date 1549 : there are two hagioscopes and piscinae : inserted in the north wall of the chancel is a quaint monument of alabaster and marble to the Boteler family dated 1621: there are several mural tablets and some curious brasses. The register dates from the year 1663. [Kelly's Directory - Bedfordshire - 1898]