Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Houghton Conquest

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Houghton Conquest

HOUGHTON-CONQUEST

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

"HOUGHTON-CONQUEST, a parish in the hundred of Redbornstoke, county Bedford, 3 miles north of Ampthill, its post town, and 6 south of Bedford. It is a small agricultural village, with some remains of the old seat of the Conquests, in which they received James L in 1605. The mansion was first erected by Sydney's sister, from a design in the "Arcadia;" it was afterwards altered by Inigo Jones for the Earl of Ailesbury, and subsequently by Chambers for the Duke of Bedford. The living is a rectory* annexed to that of Houghton Gildable, in the diocese of Ely, value £828, in the patronage of St. John's College, Cambridge. The church, dedicated to St. James, has a tower containing six bells. It was thoroughly restored in 1845, and contains a monument to Dr. Zachary Grey, editor of "Hudibras," and a commentator on Shakspeare. The charities produce about £86 per annum, of which £68 goes to Clarke's school and almshouses. Houghton Park is situated a short distance S.W. of the village, but the famous mansion of the earls of Elgin and Ailesbury is now destroyed. The Duke of Bedford is lord of the manor."

"CHAPEL END, a small hamlet in the parish of Houghton Conquest, in county Bedfordshire, 1 mile north east of Houghton Conquest."

"DUCK END, a hamlet in the parish of Houghton Conquest, in county Bedfordshire, ½ mile north west of Houghton Conquest."

"HAWHILLS, a hamlet in the parish of Houghton Conquest, in county Bedfordshire, 1½ mile south east of Houghton Conquest."

"HOW END, a hamlet in the parish of Houghton Conquest, in county Bedfordshire, 1½ mile south west of Houghton Conquest."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

Cemeteries

Census

  • The 1851 Census Index for Houghton Conquest can be found in the 1851 Index to Census of Bedfordshire, Volume 4, Book 2 available from the Bedfordshire Family History Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Houghton Conquest area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • Church of England
    • The church of All Saints is a spacious and elegant structure, chiefly in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled tower of the Decorated period, containing 6 bells: it was restored in 1870 by the late Sir G. Gilbert Scott R.A. : the stained east window, erected in 1880 by the late Very Rev. John Burgon M.A. Dean of Chichester (d. 1888) is a memorial to three benefactors, Eliza Hargrave and Mary and Sarah Windle; the walls of the aisles bear traces of frescoes, the designs of which are in some parts sufficiently distinct to be distinguished: over the north doorway is a huge painting of St. Christopher, of the 15th century : on the north wall of the chancel is a monument of carved alabaster consisting of a species of framework in which is set the figure of Dr. Archer, rector, 1579-1620, in the act of exhortation, with book in hand, and partially resting upon a cushion; attached is a partially effaced inscription in Latin; he died in 1620: there is also an altar slab to Dame Ann Clearke, 1644; and two brasses to members of the Conquest family. The register dates from the year 1595. The parish registers of Houghton Conquest, 1539-188, are in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, having been purchased in 1884. [Kelly's Directory - Bedfordshire - 1898]
  • Non-conformist
    • There is a Wesleyan chapel, erected in 1878 ; the old chapel, built in 1833, is now used as a schoolroom. [Kelly's Directory - Bedfordshire - 1898

Church Records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Houghton Conquest which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Houghton Conquest has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL046416 (Lat/Lon: 52.062870, -0.475599), Houghton Conquest which are provided by:

Military History

  • The BFHS Project in conjunction with Roll of Honour contains the Houghton Conquest War Memorial transcription for WW1 and WW2 with details of the men found on it