Aylesbury (including Walton)

"Aylesbury, a market and borough town, giving name to the hundred in which it is situated; is 38 miles from London, 17 from Buckingham, 22 from Oxford, 10 from Thame, 7 from Tring, and 5 from Wendover. The town stands near the centre of the county, on a small eminence, in the rich and extensive tract denominated 'the Vale of Aylesbury'." [Pigot and Co.'s National Commercial Directory - 1830]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"A Walk Round St. Mary's", Revd. Dennis W. Davies (church guide).
"A History of Aylesbury with its Borough and Hundreds, the Hamlet of Walton and the Electoral Divisions", Gibbs R., Aylesbury, 1885.
"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"Pigot and Co.'s National Commercial Directory - 1830"
"Royal Commission on Historical Monuments - An Inventory of the Historical Monuments in Buckinghamshire", H.M.S.O, 1912/3.
"The Bucks Ancestor", Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society, Vol. 6, No. 4, December 1997.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", Peter Quick

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Aylesbury have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet titled "War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Monumental Inscriptions

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 200 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland for Aylesbury including Walton. Between them they were assessed at £18.5.0 of which sum John Duncombe esq. and Mr John Barkin both contributed £1.

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 546 men in Aylesbury and 58 men in Walton between the ages of 16 and 60.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 3082 inhabitants in 668 families living in 675 houses recorded in Aylesbury.

Census Year Population
1801* 3082
1811* 3447
1821* 4400
1831* 5021
1841 5429
1851 6081
1861 6168
1871 6962
1881 7795
1891 8680
1901 9099

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

topup

Church History

Descriptions

Prebendaries

The churches of Aylesbury and Walton are both 'Prebends' of the Cathedral of Lincoln. The Prebendaries appointed the Vicars. The Prebend is an endowment given to a cathedral for the maintenance (in præbendum) of a Secular Priest.

Vicars, Incumbents and pastors

topup

Church Records

Many of the original parish registers and some registers for other non-conformist churches have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury. The following table list the dates covered by registers which have been deposited in archives for the various churches in Aylesbury, it also gives a summary of the dates covered by the IGI.:

  Registers deposited in
archives
St Mary

Christenings: 1565 - 1971
Marriages: 1565 - 1975
Banns: 1754 - 1984
Burials: 1565 - 1963

Walton, Holy Trinity 1845 to 1908
Hale Leys Chapel 1789 to 1837
Methodist 1817 to 1837

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society Publications
Dates covered
Society
St Mary - Christenings
1564 - 1736
 
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
St Mary - Christenings
 
1565 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
St Mary - Marriages
1565 - 1853
 
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
St Mary - Marriages
 
1565 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
St Mary - Burials
1564 - 1736
 
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
St Mary - Burials
 
1565 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Walton Holy Trinity - Marriages
1846 - 1908
 
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Aylesbury showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
St Mary - Aylesbury 700 - Morning General Congregation
180 - Morning Sunday Scholars
880 - Morning Total

800 - Evening General Congregation
180 - Evening Sunday Scholars
980 - Evening Total

Holy Trinity - Walton 342 - Morning General Congregation
50 - Morning Sunday Scholars
342 - Morning Total

390 - Evening General Congregation

Walton Street Baptist Chapel 110 - Morning General Congregation
29 - Morning Sunday Scholars
139 - Morning Total

100 - Afternoon General Congregation
29 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
129 - Afternoon Total

90 - Evening General Congregation

Catholic Chapel 30 - Morning General Congregation

100 - Evening General Congregation

Christian, Working Men's Hall A Private Class 20 or 30 Public Meeting
Hale Leys Independent Chapel,
New Road
250 - Morning General Congregation
147 - Morning Sunday Scholars
397 - Morning Total

70 - Afternoon General Congregation

300 - Evening General Congregation

Primitive Methodist Connexion
Hale Leys Chapel
40 - Morning General Congregation
77 - Morning Sunday Scholars
177 [sic] - Morning Total

130 - Afternoon General Congregation
77 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
207 - Afternoon Total

170 - Evening General Congregation

Wesleyan Methodist Chapel 250 - Average Morning General Congregation
100 - Average Morning Sunday Scholars
350 - Average Morning Total

350 - Average Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aylesbury (including Walton) which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aylesbury (including Walton) to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aylesbury (including Walton) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Decorative letter for Aylesbury

ylesbury has a prominent position on a hill where the Akeman Street meets the main road from Thame to Buckingham. The earliest settlement was almost entirely built on the summit and slopes of the hill. The highest ground of all being the site of the church.

In 1086, Aylesbury was a household manor of the King and was assessed in the Domesday Book as being 16 hides with land for 16 ploughs and having 2 mills.

The following are a number of notable descriptions of Aylesbury and its history:

  • In Robert Gibbs "A History of Aylesbury with its Borough and Hundreds, the Hamlet of Walton and the Electoral Divisions" he quotes several descriptions of Aylesbury from notable historians. These are as follows:
  1. Leland (- 1552) from his work "History and Antiquities of England and Wales".
  2. William Camden (1551 to 1623) from his work "The Britannia".
  3. Browne Willis (1682 - 1760), a local historian and antiquarian.
topup
topup

Military History

On the 1st November 1642, during the English Civil War The Battle of Aylesbury took place at Holman's Bridge at the edge of the town.

topup

Names, Geographical

The derivation of the name "Aylesbury" is not clear, and several different ideas have been put forward. The actual name itself has been spelt numerous different ways over the years, and Robert Gibbs in his History of Aylesbury lists no less than 57 variations. It has been suggested that the first part of the name is derived from Latin or Greek meaning a church or place of worship, and that the name Aylesbury therefore appertains to a church or temple on an elevated site. Other people are of the opinion that the name has nothing to do with a church and that the 'bury' part of the name is indicative of place of fortification and defence, and refers to an Anglo-Saxon defensive position at Aylesbury.

topup

Officials and Employees

Parliamentary Representatives for Aylesbury

In 1554 Queen Mary granted to Aylesbury a 'Charter of Incorporation'. The Borough created by this, was given the right to elect two representatives in Parliament. The following web pages list the representatives for Aylesbury, from the time of the Charter to 1880.

topup
topup