Bradenham

"Bradenham. A spacious green, flanked by old red-brick cottages and dominated by a flint church tower and the adjacent many-windowed house behind which rise beechwoods, slopes down to the main road and railway, and looks across to the down-like outline of Bledlow ridge..." [Murray's Buckinghamshire Architectural Guide]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"Murray's Buckinghamshire Architectural Guide." editors John Betjeman & John Piper, London, 1948
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part three - Risboroughs, Missendens and their environs, Volume 9", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 41 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Bradenham.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 170 inhabitants in 34 families living in 33 houses recorded in Bradenham.

Census Year Population of Bradenham
1801* 170
1811* 181
1821* 220
1831* 263
1841 226
1851 138
1861 185
1871 169
1881 183
1891 152
1901 154

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bradenham area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St. Botolph, Bradenham have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1627 - 1944
Marriages 1627 - 1837
Banns 1824 - 1940
Burials 1627 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1627 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1627 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Bradenham showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Bradenham, St. Botolph 32 - Morning General Congregation
25 - Morning Sunday Scholars
56 - Morning Total

30 - Afternoon General Congregation
26 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
56 - Afternoon Total

Bradenham, Independent 15 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bradenham which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bradenham to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bradenham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Bradenham was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

BRADENHAM, in the hundred of Desborough and deanery of Wycombe, lies about four miles north-west of High-Wycombe. The manor belonged in the 13th century to the Earls of Warwick: towards the end of that century it came into the possession of the Bradenhams, (who took their name from the village,) and was afterwards successively in the families of Falwesley, Wiltshire, Botiler and Scot. After this, Bradenham was for many years a seat of the noble family of Windsor, having been purchased in 1500 by Sir Andrews Windsor, who was, in 1529, created Lord Windsor of Bradenham. In 1566 Queen Elizabeth, being on her return from the university of Oxford, was most sumptuously entertained at Bradenham, by Edward, Lord Windsor, whose kinsman, Miles Windsor, spoke an oration on the occasion, which was highly commended by her majesty. This Lord Windsor, by his last will, directed a hospital to be founded at Bradenham, for six poor men, the rector Bradenham to be the master, and to have 20 marks a-year as an augmentation to his living; and he requested that letters patent might be procured to incorporate the said rector and poor men, by the name of the master and brethren of the hospital of Bradenham. His executors seem altogether to have neglected their trust, as far as related to the foundation of this hospital, which never took place. About the year 1640, Bradenham became the seat of Sir Edmund Pye bart. who purchased the manor of the Windsor family. Sir Edmund left issue two daughters, the elder of whom married John Lord Lovelace, whose daughter and heir (being also the representative of the Wentworth family, and Baroness Wentworth in her own right) married Sir Henry Johnson, and died without issue in 1745, when this, and other estates, devolved to the present Viscount Wentworth, [footnote: as descended from Sir William Noel, who married Margaret, elder daughter of the first Lord Lovelace, by Lady Anne Wentworth], who in 1787 sold it to John Hicks esq. Bradenham-House was built by William Lord Windsor, the second of that title, but it has not much the appearance of antiquity, having undergone several alterations: it has lately been let by Mr. Hicks, together with the manor and demesne lands, on a lease of 21 years, to Peregrine Dealtry esq. The parish church contains nothing worthy of note, excepting the tomb of Joanna Mitchen, who died at the age of 103. A chapel on the north side of the chancel was built by William Lord Windsor, in 1542, as appears by an inscription round the cornice of the ceiling; in this chapel is a monument for Elizabeth, younger daughter of Sir Edmund Pye, and her husband, the Hon. Charles West, who died without issue. The advowson of the rectory has been always attached to the manor. Catherine Lady Pye left lands for the purpose of educating poor children of this and some other parishes in Buckinghamshire.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Bradenham is believed to mean 'Brada's homestead'.