Buckland

"BUCKLAND at a Chiltern foot, near the main road at Aston Clinton. Bungalows in back lanes. Brick Methodist church with gallery, 1836. The single-aisled church has an early Tractarian-style interior of white-washed beauty. The main structure is medieval." [Murray's Buckinghamshire Architectural Guide]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"Murray's Buckinghamshire Architectural Guide." editors John Betjeman & John Piper, London, 1948
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred pt. one, Volume 3", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 31 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £3.2.10 of which sum Jn. Baker and his family contributed £0.11.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 58 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Buckland.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 281 inhabitants in 71 families living in 39 houses recorded in Buckland.

Census Year Population of Buckland
1801* 288
1811* 331
1821* 496
1831* 510
1841 537
1851 662
1861 732
1871 820
1881 863
1891 847
1901 730

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Buckland area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for All Saints, Buckland have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1653 - 1980
Marriages 1657 - 1969
Burials 1653 - 1969

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society Publications
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1701 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Christenings
1605 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Marriages
1657 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1609 - 1837
1609 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Banns
1824 - 1900
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Burials
1684 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1605 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Buckland showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Buckland, All Saints 12 - Morning General Congregation
22 - Morning Sunday Scholars
34 - Morning Total

30 - Afternoon General Congregation
22 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
52 - Afternoon Total

Buckland, Wesleyan
Methodist Chapel
80 - Afternoon Total

100 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Buckland which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Buckland to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Buckland has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Buckland was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

BUCKLAND, in the hundred of Aylesbury and deanery of Wendover, has a parochial chapel, subject to the church of Bierton; it lies about five miles and a half east of Aylesbury, near the road to Tring. The manor was anciently in the families of Clifford and Leybourne; from the latter it passed by a female heir to the Despensers. Richard Neville, the great Earl of Warwick, died seized of it in 1469; it afterwards came to the crown. The Dormer family became possessed of it by purchase or grant, in the 16th century; from them it passed by marriage to the Stanhopes, and is now the property of the Earl of Chesterfield. The great tithes are appropriated to the dean and chapter of Lincoln.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Buckland is speculated to derive from being a piece of land granted to some early bishop by boc, or royal charter.