Calverton

"This Parish is bounded, on the North, by Wolverton and the Township of Stoney-Stratford; on the East, by Wolverton; South-East, by Shenley; South, by Whaddon; West by Beachampton; and by Passenham, in Northamptonshire, on the North-West. The soil is clayey, with lime-stone and rubble. The Ouse borders this parish towards the south-east, being the division between Bucks and Northamptonshire, near the course of which the Grand Junction Canal, between Haversham and Cosgrove, gives off a branch, which, passing within the verge of Northamptonshire, re-enters Bucks in Thornton parish, about three miles north-east of Buckingham.." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928

topup

Cemeteries

  • War memorial details are available online on the Roll of Honour web site.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 55 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £3.2.4 of which sum Mr Knight rector and Mr Harrison, each contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 57 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Calverton.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 321 inhabitants in 72 families living in 64 houses recorded in Calverton.

Census Year Population of Calverton
1801* 321
1811* 332
1821* 370
1831* 425
1841 493
1851 505
1861 595
1871 579
1881 550
1891 658
1901 711

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Calverton area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for All Saints, Calverton have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1559 - 1866
Marriages 1559 - 1836
Banns 1757 - 1898
Burials 1559 - 1942

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows::

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1696 - 1753
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Calverton showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Calverton, All Saints 65 - Morning General Congregation
37 - Morning Sunday Scholars
102 - Morning Total

160 - Afternoon General Congregation
40 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
200 - Afternoon Total

Calverton, Independent 25 - Evening General Congregation
25 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Calverton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Calverton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Calverton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Calverton was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

CALVERTON, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies a mile to the south of Stony-Stratford. The manor passed by marriage from the Bulbecs to the noble families of Vere, Neville, and Percy. Henry, Earl of Northumberland, sold it about the year 1616 to Sir Thomas Bennet, from whose family it passed by a female heir to an ancestor of the Marquis of Salisbury, who is the present proprietor and patron of the rectory. The west side of Stony-Stratford, which was formerly in the parish of Calverton, has been made a separate parish by act parliament. The parish of Calverton, and the west side of Stony-Stratford, were inclosed in 1782, when an allotment of land was assigned in lieu of tithes.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Calverton derives from cealf, tun and means 'calves' farm'