Cheddington

"Cheddington or, more anciently, CETENDONE, is bounded, on the North, by Mentmore; on the East, by Slapton and Edlesborough; on the South, by Ivinghoe and Marsworth; and on the West, by Hulcot, and a small portion of the County of Hertford." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Cheddington have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 46 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £8.7.4 of which sum Wn. Fowntaine jun, Jn. Howes jun, and Wm. Brewer each contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 66 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Cheddington.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 273 inhabitants in 63 families living in 48 houses recorded in Cheddington.

Census Year Population of Cheddington
1801* 273
1811* 301
1821* 341
1831* 375
1841 439
1851 508
1861 628
1871 745
1881 744
1891 654
1901 580

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cheddington area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Giles, Cheddington have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1539 - 1982
Marriages 1556 - 1989
Burials 1556 - 1976

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1552 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Cheddington showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Cheddington, St Giles Morning & afternoon no information.

Evening no service

Cheddington, Baptist Chapel 50 - Evening Total
Cheddington, Wesleyan
Methodist Chapel
40 - Morning Sunday Scholars

70 - General Congregation
40 - Sunday Scholars
110 - Total

80 - Evening General Congregation
20 - Evening Sunday Scholars
100 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cheddington which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cheddington to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cheddington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Cheddington was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

CHEDDINGTON, in the hundred of Cotslow and deanery of Muresley, lies about eight miles north-east of Aylesbury, and about two miles from Ivinghoe. In the reign of Edward I. the manor was in the Lucys, afterwards successively in the families of Brocas and Combe: by the latter it was sold to the Hudsons, from whom it passed by inheritance to the present proprietor, Mrs. Mary Seare. The Earl of Bridgwater is patron of the rectory.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Cheddington derives from the old english words of Cettan-dun, and means 'Cetta's hill'.