Clifton Reynes

"Clifton Reynes is situated about one mile eastward from Olney; the River Ouse being the common boundary of both these Parishes. It derives its name from the hill and cliff on the eastern bank of the River, on which it stands, and acquired the distinctive epithet of Reynes, from a family by which the principal Manor was possessed, from the time of Edward I., if not earlier, to the reign of King Henry VIII. It is bounded, on the North, by the Ouse, by which this Parish is separated from Lavendon and Brayfield; on the East, by Newton-Blossomville; on the South, by Petsoe and Emberton; and on the West, by the latter and by Olney."
[The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928

topup

Cemeteries

  • War memorial details are available online on the Roll of Honour web site.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 32 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £12.1.7 of which sum Raines Lowe esq contributed £10.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 51 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Clifton Reynes.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 221 inhabitants in 50 families living in 45 houses recorded in Clifton Reynes.

Census Year Population of Clifton Reynes
1801* 221
1811* 238
1821* 230
1831* 246
1841 213
1851 217
1861 212
1871 216
1881 203
1891 170
1901 122

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Clifton Reynes area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary the Virgin, Clifton Reynes have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1653 - 1812
Marriages 1655 - 1836
Burials 1653 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1754 - 1836
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Clifton Reynes showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Clifton Reynes, St Mary the Virgin 33 - Morning General Congregation
55 - Morning Sunday Scholars
88 - Morning Total

56 - Afternoon General Congregation
55 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
111 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Clifton Reynes which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Clifton Reynes to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Clifton Reynes has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Clifton Reynes was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

CLIFTON-REYNES, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies about half a mile to the east of Olney, across the river, but the nearest road to it from that town is about two miles and a half. This place took its name from the ancient family of Reynes, who possessed a manor in this parish, which passed by a female heir to the Lowes, and was sold by them to the celebrated Serjeant Maynard. From the Maynards it passed by marriage to the noble family of Hobart, and was sold about the year 1750, by the Earl of Buckinghamshire, to Mr. Small, father of the present proprietor, Alexander Small esq. who has a seat at Clifton-Reynes. Another manor, called also the manor of Clifton-Reynes, was from an early period in the noble family of Mordaunt, and was sold by the Earl of Peterborough in 1786, to John Higgins esq. of Turvey in Bedfordshire, who is the present proprietor. In the church are some ancient tombs of the families of Beauchamp, Zouche and Reynes, the only one which has an inscription, is that of Sir John Reynes, who died in 1428. Mr. Small is patron of the rectory.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Clifton Reynes is in two parts; the first word derives from the position on the River Ouse and the second from the Reynes family who held the manor from at least 1302.