Colnbrook

"Colnbrook is a small town lying in the civil parishes of Horton, Langley Marish and Iver in Buckinghamshire and of Stanwell in Middlesex, From the middle of the 14th century it was a chapelry attached to the parish of Horton, and was made into an ecclesiastical parish in 1853. The parish boundary was altered in 1873 to include parts of Iver parish. With the exception of these the north side of Colnbrook forms a detached part of Langley Marish, divided from Horton by a gutter." [© copyright of the editors of The Victoria Histories of the Counties of England]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 96 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £10.10.3 of which sum Ric. Wells contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 46 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in the Langley Marish- Colnbrook Division.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Colnbrook area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Thomas, Colnbrook have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1760 - 1974
Marriages 1852 - 1983
Banns 1880 - 1996
Burials 1852 - 1933

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Colnbrook showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Colnbrook, St Thomas 200 - Morning General Congregation
35 - Morning Sunday Scholars
235 - Morning Total

220 - Afternoon General Congregation
30 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
250 - Afternoon Total

Colnbrook, Particular
Baptist Chapel,
High Street
154 - Morning General Congregation
58 - Morning Sunday Scholars
212 - Morning Total

126 - Afternoon General Congregation
59 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
185 - Afternoon Total

140 - Evening General Congregation
140 - Evening Total

Colnbrook, Primitive
Methodist
19 - Morning Sunday Scholars

30 - Afternoon General Congregation
22 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars

50 - Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Colnbrook which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Colnbrook to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Colnbrook has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Colnbrook means 'Cola's brook'.