Dinton

(including Aston Mullins, Ford, Upton, Waldridge, and Westlington)

"Dinton, Dunnington, or Donyngton; with Westlington and Ford, Aston-Molins, Waldridge, Upton, and Blomes, is about six miles from Aylesbury, and near the road to Thame. The parish, with its hamlets, is computed to be seventeen miles in circuit: and said to be bounded on the north by the course of the Thame between Stone and Dinton, on the east by Wendover, on the south and west by Haddenham. The soil is gravelly clay, with sand; in some parts a deep rich loam, with lime and sand-stone, shells bivalves and univalves, and the usual concomitants of limestone strata. The pasture land is remarkably fertile, and timber trees, especially elms, of great size and beauty." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Dinton have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 48 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £50.17.10 of which sum Ric Sarjeant esq and Sim. Maine esq both contributed £10.0.0 each.

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 109 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Dinton.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 668 inhabitants in 128 families living in 112 houses recorded in Dinton.

Census Year Population of Dinton
1801* 668
1811* 713
1821* 817
1831* 893
1841 818
1851 859
1861 814
1871 790
1881 718
1891 747
1901 663

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dinton area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Peter & St Paul, Dinton have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1560 - 1889
Marriages 1562 - 1996
Burials 1562 - 1963

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1741 - 1883
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1566 - 1876
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Dinton showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Dinton, St Peter & St Paul 55 - Morning General Congregation
51 - Morning Sunday Scholars
106 - Morning Total

121 - Afternoon General Congregation
52 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
173 - Afternoon Total

Dinton, Baptist No data given for the 30th March 1851
Dinton, General Baptist
Chapel Ford
100 - Morning General Congregation
50 - Morning Sunday Scholars

120 - Afternoon General Congregation
50 - Afternoon

60 - Evening General Congregation
20 - Evening Sunday Scholars

Dinton, Independent 32 - Morning General Congregation
26 - Morning Sunday Scholars
58 - Morning Total

40 - Evening General Congregation
7 - Evening Sunday Scholars
47 - Evening Total

Dinton, Indepenent Chapel
Westlington
No data given for the 30th March 1851
Dinton, Wesleyan
Methodist Chapel
11 - Morning Sunday Scholars

75 - Afternoon General Congregation
11 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
86 - Afternoon Total

67 - Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Dinton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dinton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dinton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Dinton was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

DINTON, in the hundred of Aylesbury and deanery of Wendover, lies about four miles south-west of Aylesbury, near the road to Thame. The manor was anciently in the Munchensis. In 1464, having been forfeited by the attainder of Sir Robert Whittingham, it was granted to Sir John Montgomery and his heirs male: it was afterwards in the Verneys. The Maynes became possessed of it and settled at Dinton about the year 1606: upon the attainder of Simon Mayne, one of the regicides, who died in prison after conviction, and was buried at Dinton in 1661, this manor became forfeited, but was repossessed by the family probably through the indulgence of the crown, and was sold in 1727, by Simon Mayne, grandson of the regicide, to John Vanhattem esq. father of the late Sir John Vanhattem, who died in 1789. His son-in-law, the Rev. William Goodall, is the present proprietor. The hamlets of Westlington and Ford are attached to this manor.

The manor-house, now the seat of Mr. Goodall, is an ancient mansion, which was for many years the residence of the Maynes. Mr. Goodall has several papers relating to the history of the parish; a collection of extraneous fossils from Dinton and its neighbourhood, where they are found in great abundance; and some antiquities discovered in an arable field near the road to Thame, by labourers who were digging for the foundation of a castellated building erected by Sir John Vanhattem in 1769. The most remarkable is a small vessel of thin green glass, of a conical form, which is engraved in the 10th volume of the Archaeologia. The manors of Aston-Molins and Waldridge, in this parish, are in the hundred of Ashendon, and the manor of Morton, in the hundred of Desborough. The manor of Aston-Molins, formerly called Aston-Bernard, belonged anciently to the family of Fitz-Bernard, from whom it passed by purchase to the Blackets. In 1331, St John Molins, who held this manor by grand serjeanty, as marshal of the king's falcons, had a licence to embattle his house at Aston-Molins: from him the manor passed by female heirs to the families of Hungerford and Hastings. The family of Serjeant became possessed of it about the year 1606: it is now the property of Matthew Raper esq. whose ancestors purchased it of the Serjeants in 1720.

The manor of Waldridge belonged also to the Serjeants: it was afterwards the seat of Sir Richard Ingoldsby, who purchased it in 1651 of the Serjeants. It is somewhat singular, that Dinton should have been the residence of two of the judges of King Charles I. Sir Richard Ingoldsby and Simon Mayne; the former was pardoned and taken into favour after the restoration. Waldridge is now the property of the Marquis of Winchester, who married the heiress of the Ingoldsbys. The manor of Morton has been long held on lease by the Waller family, under the church of Winchester. The Lees of Hartwell, before their marriage with the heiress of that estate, were of Morton, and it is probable that they were lessees of the manor before the Wallers. The manor of Upton, in this parish, belonged to Lord Chief Justice Baldwin, and having passed by female heirs to the Borlaces and Wallops, is now the property of the Earl of Portsmouth. The manor of Blomer, in this parish, was formerly in the Hampdens, afterwards in the Claytons, and is now the property of the Earl of Chesterfield.

In the parish church are monuments for the families of Serjeant, Mayne, and Vanhattem. The south door has a very curious Norman arch.

The great tithes of this parish were formerly appropriated to the Priory of Godstow: when the act for inclosing this parish passed in 1802, it appeared that the vicar was entitled to a portion of the great tithes, and that Matthew Raper esq. the Rev. William Goodall, and George Franklin esq. were entitled to the remainder, excepting those of the hamlet of Upton; the great tithes were directed to be apportioned, and allotments of land made in lieu of them to the several proprietors; Mr. Serjeant's impropriate tithes were to remain unaltered, but he was at liberty to accept a corn-rent; The vicar had 40 acres allotted to him for his glebe, and a corn-rent in lieu of tithes; the vicarage is in the gift of the crown. Ford, a hamlet of this parish, had formerly a chapel of ease, which has been destroyed. There is an engraved portrait of John Bigg, an eccentric character, who was a native and inhabitant of this parish, and commonly called the Dinton hermit. In his younger days he was clerk to Simon Mayne the regicide, who acted as a justice of the peace: for many years before his death, which happened in 1696, he lived in a cave under ground. His method of mending his clothes, which he never changed, was by fastening fresh cloth or leather over the decayed parts: one of his shoes thus mended, till the leather became of more than tenfold thickness, is in Mr. Goodalls possession, the other is in the Bodleian library at Oxford.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Dinton means 'Dunna's farm'.