Great Brickhill

"Great Brickhill contains about 2500 acres, of which three-fourths are computed to be pasture. The soil is a deep red sand, with ochreous stone and marcasite: the surface broken into bold inequalities, lofty hillocks, and narrow chasms or ravines, which render its appearance, in some parts of the parish, very picturesque. Its name, perhaps, is to denote the greater extent of the hill on which the Village is built, to the site of the adjacent parishes of Bow-Brickhill and Little-Brickhill, although the latter seems to have far exceeded it in population. Great Brickhill is bounded on the North and East, by Little-Brickhill; on the South, by Soulbury and its Hamlets; and on the West, by the course of the Ouzel, or Little Ouse, by which it is separated from Stoke-Hammond, and the Townships of Fenny-Stratford and Water-Eton (Water-Eaton,) in Bletchley." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

  • War memorials in Great Brickhill have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • War memorial details are also available online on the Roll of Honour web site.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 96 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £6.8.8 of which sum Rob. Massingbred contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 138 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Great Brickhill.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 560 inhabitants in 128 families living in 128 houses recorded in Great Brickhill.

Census Year Population of Great Brickhill
1801* 560
1811* 554
1821* 558
1831* 776
1841 721
1851 730
1861 590
1871 566
1881 557
1891 522
1901 491

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Brickhill area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary the Virgin, Great Brickhill have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1559 - 1917
Marriages 1559 - 1982
Burials 1559 - 1883

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1558 - 1917
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1558 - 1982
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1558 - 1883
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Great Brickhill showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Great Brickhill, St Mary the Virgin 140 - General Congregation
63 - Sunday Scholars
203 - Total

221 - Afternoon General Congregation
63 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
284 - Afternoon Total

Great Brickhill, Baptist Meeting 88 - Morning General Congregation
72 - Morning Sunday Scholars
160 - Morning Total

91 - Afternoon General Congregation
72 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
163 - Afternoon Total

98 - Evening General Congregation
72 - Evening Sunday Scholars
170 - Evening Total

Great Brickhill, Wesleyan
Methodist
40 - Afternoon General Congregation
40 - Afternoon Total

14 - Evening General Congregation
14 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Great Brickhill which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Great Brickhill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Great Brickhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Great Brickhill was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

GREAT-BRICKHILL, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies about two miles and a half to the south-east of Fenny-Stratford. The manor was anciently in the Beauchamps, from whom it passed by female heirs to the Bassets and Greys. Richard Grey, Earl of Kent, sold it in 1514 to Sir Charles Somerset, of whose son, Sir George it was purchased in 1549, by the Duncombes: from this family it passed, by female heirs, to the Bartons and Paunceforts, and is now the property of Philip Duncombe Pauncefort esq.

The manor of Smewnes-Grange, in this parish, became the property of Woburn Abbey, in the year 1293. King Edward VI. granted it to Edward Stanton esq. of whose descendant it was purchased in 1792, (under an act of parliament which had passed the preceding year,) by the present proprietor, Edward Hanmer esq. of Stockgrove. This manor extends into the parish of Soulbury: the manor-house, which was built by Edward Stanton, the grantee, within a moated site near the Ousel, has long been suffered to go to decay.

In the parish church are memorials of the families of Duncombe, Barton, Pauncefort, and Chase. The advowson of the rectory is annexed to the manor. This parish was inclosed by an act of parliament, passed in 1776, when an allotment of land was assigned to the rector, in lieu of tithes, and an allotment to the poor in lieu of their right of cutting furze.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Brickhill can be considered to also be composed of two parts, firstly, brik meaning top or summit, and the second part hill. The name Great being used as a distinguishing affix.