Great Kimble

"Great Kimble, or Kimbell-Magna; Chenebella, Cunebell, Kynebele, Kunebelle, or Kimbel. This Parish is of an oblong form, having Dinton on the North; Little Kimble and Bishopstone, in Stone, on the North-East; Ellesborough and Little Hampden, on the East; Great Hampden, on the South; Monks-Risborough, on the South-West and West; and Waldridge, in Dinton, on the North-West. The soil is, in the northern part of the parish, a deep clay; on the southern, or Chiltern side, intermixed with abundance of flints and chalk; the former chiefly arable or meadow, the latter interspersed with woodlands and downs." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred - part three, Risborough, Missendens and their environs, Volume 9", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 81 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £21.10.9 of which sum Mrs Ann Cooke contributed £3.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 64 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Great Kimble.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 316 inhabitants in 56 families living in 42 houses recorded in Great Kimble.

Census Year Population of Great Kimble
1801* 316
1811* 319
1821* 360
1831* 436
1841 489
1851 501
1861 408
1871 459
1881 422
1891 395
1901 345

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Great Kimble area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Nicholas, Great Kimble have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1701 - 1943
Marriages 1701 - 1955
Burials 1701 - 1902

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1803 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1701 - 1807
1838 - 1879
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1693 - 1729
1803 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Great Kimble showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Great Kimble, St Nicholas 110 - Morning General Congregation
140 - Morning Sunday Scholars
250 - Morning Total

160 - Afternoon General Congregation
140 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
300 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Great Kimble which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Great Kimble to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Great Kimble has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Great Kimble was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

GREAT-KIMBELL, or KIMBLE, in the hundred of Aylesbury and deanery of Wendover, lies about three miles to the south-west of Wendover. The manor belonged in the fourteenth century to Sir Walter Upton knt. whose only daughter and heir having married the second son of Sir Reginald Hampden, it continued many years in this branch of the Hampden family, who afterwards, on a failure of issue from the elder branch, succeeded to the Great-Hampden estate. About the year 1730, this manor was sold by trustees, acting on behalf of the Hampden family, (under an act of parliament, passed in 1726,) to Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough, and by her given to her grandson, John Spencer. From him it descended to the present Earl Spencer, who, in 1803, sold it to Mr. Rickford, by whom it was conveyed the same year to the present proprietor, Scrope Bernard esq. together with two subordinate manors in the parish, called Marshall's and Fennell's-Grove, alias Whityngams. These manors, which comprise the hamlets of Marsh and Kimbell-wick, were purchased by the Hampdens at an early period, and have since passed with the superior manor, which in some old writings is called Upton's.

An act of parliament, for inclosing this parish, passed in 1803, when allotments of land were made to Mr. Bernard, and other impropriators of the great tithes, which formerly belonged to Missenden abbey. The parsonage house and chancel are now vested in Mr. Bernard. Lord Hampden is patron of the vicarage, which in 1799 was consolidated with Great-Hampden.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Kimble derives from the old english words cyne, belle and means 'Royal bell-shaped hill'. The name Great being used as a distinguishing affix.