Grove

"Grove is a very small place, although now a distinct parish, as it appears to have been at the time of the Conquest, but of so little account as to have been, not long afterwards, annexed to Mentmore, as an appendage to that parish, and not again severed until modern days." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 12 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Grove.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 25 inhabitants in 3 families living in 3 houses recorded in Grove.

Census Year Population of Grove
1801* 25
1811* 33
1821* 18
1831* 21
1841 25
1851 38
1861 19
1871 23
1881 17
1891 19
1901 19

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Grove area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Michael & All Angels, Grove have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1689 - 1967
Marriages 1690 - 1956
Burials 1706 - 1963

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society Publications
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1576 - 1899
1576 - 1899
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Marriages
1711 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1606 - 1899
1606 - 1899
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Burials
1577 - 1898
1577 - 1898
Buckinghamshire Family History Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Grove showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Grove,
St Michael & All Angels
8 - Afternoon General Congregation
8 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Grove which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Grove to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Grove has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Grove was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

GROVE, in the hundred of Cotslow and deanery of Muresley, is a very small village, containing only three houses. It lies on the borders of Bedfordshire, by the side of the Grand Junction Canal, nearly three miles from Leighton-Busard. The manor was successively in the families of De la Grove, Brook, Loring, Peyvre. And Broughton. In the reign of King Henry VIII. it was in the Dormers, from whom it passed by female heir to the Stanhopes, and is now the property of the Earl of Chesterfield, who is also patron of the rectory. Divine service is performed only once in three weeks, at the parish church, which is a very small mean building.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Grove is self-explanatory i.e. means 'grove or copse'.