Hedsor

"Hedsor is situated on the eastern verge of the Hundred, at the junction of Hitcham and Taplow; being bounded, on the North, by Woburn; on the East, by Dropmore, in Burnham; and on the South and West, by the Thames. The Parish is only about one mile and a half in length, and one mile broad, containing 450 acres; of which, 110 are pasture, 140 arable, and 137 woodland." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Marlow and area, Volume 12", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 36 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Hedsor.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 140 inhabitants in 35 families living in 30 houses recorded in Hedsor.

Census Year Population of Hedsor
1801* 140
1811* 162
1821* 188
1831* 207
1841 194
1851 183
1861 175
1871 225
1881 155
1891 191
1901 166

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hedsor area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Nicholas, Hedsor have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1678 - 1912
Marriages 1678 - 1997
Banns 1754 - 1970
Burials 1678 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society Publications
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
 
1600 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Marriages
1600 - 1837
 
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
 
1600 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Burials
 
1600 - 1901
Buckinghamshire Family History Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Hedsor showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Hedsor, St Giles 50 - Morning General Congregation
34 - Morning Sunday Scholars
84 - Morning Total

90 - Afternoon General Congregation
34 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
124 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

    You can see pictures of Hedsor which are provided by:

    topup

    Gazetteers

    Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hedsor to another place.

    Click here for a list of nearby places.

    topup

    Historical Geography

    You can see the administrative areas in which Hedsor has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

    topup

    History

    Hedsor was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

    HEDSOR, in the hundred of Desborough and deanery of Wycombe, lies near the banks of the Thames, about five miles east of Marlow, and about the same distance from Maidenhead, in Berkshire. The manor belonged anciently to a family who took their name from the village: in the fifteenth century it was in the Restwolds, from whom it passed to the Hawtreys. Rowland Hynde purchased it about the year 1560, and it continued in his family nearly a century, when it passed by purchase to the Chilcots, of whom it was inherited by the Parkers: in 1764 it was purchased of Mrs. Elizabeth Parker, by William Lord Boston, and is now the property of his son, Frederick Lord Boston.

    Hedsor-Lodge, the seat of Lord Boston, was built in 1778; it stands on the brow of a hill, commanding a very beautiful view of the Thames, and some of the most picturesque parts of Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. The house, which is elegant and commodious, contains a small collection of pictures, chiefly portraits of the families of Irby and Paget, connected by marriage. In the library is a singular portrait of Conrad Ernest Copperman, a dwarf, who was page of the back stairs to the Princess Dowager of Wales; he died at the age of 35, being then only three feet five inches in height.

    An estate in this parish, called Lambert-Farm, was formerly held under the manor, by the service of bringing in the first dish at the lord's table, on St. Stephen's-day, and presenting him with two hens, a cock, a gallon of ale, and two manchets of white bread; after dinner the lord delivered to the tenant a sparrowhawk and a couple of spaniels, to be kept at his cost and charges, for the lord's use: a composition is now paid in lieu of this service.

    In the parish church, which is a very small building; are some memorials of the families of Hynde and Parker. In the church-yard are deposited the remains of Nathaniel Hooke, author of the Roman history, to whose memory a tablet has been lately put up at the expence of Lord Boston, with the following inscription :

    "Sub hoc tumulo corpus deponi jussit Nathaniel Hooke Armiger, qui multiplici literarum varietate et studio eruditis, Romanæ historiæ auctor celebratus emicuit; de literis veró quantum meruit edita usque testabuntur opera. Ex vitâ demigravit annorum plenus & veré pius vicesimo secundo die Julii Anmno Domini 1763. Ad cinerespatris sui pariter requiescit corpus filiæ dilectissimæ Janæ Marieæ Hooke cujus animæ propirietur Deus. Sexagenaria obiit vicesimo octavo die Aprilis, Anno Domini 1793. Hoc pietatis signum poni voluit Fredericus Baro de Boston, 1801."

    Near the church is a yew-tree, which measures 27 feet in circumference.

    Lord Boston and the bishop of Lincoln are patrons of the rectory. The bishop presents every third turn.

    topup
    topup

    Names, Geographical

    The name Hedsor is a combination of two words. The first is a personal name, which could be Hædde, or Hæddel. The second part of the name derives from the old english word ofer, referring to Hedsor's position on a cliff above the river.