Lane End

"Lane End is a village and parish formed in 1867, and has a modern church (West Wycombe, 3 m.). It stands on high ground and includes Widdenton Park wood." [Buckinghamshire, by E.S. Roscoe]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire", E.S. Roscoe, London Methuen & Co Ltd, 1935.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: High Wycombe and area, Volume 11", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Lane End have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: High Wycombe and area, Volume 11", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lane End area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for Holy Trinity, Lane End have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1832 - 1934
Marriages 1832 - 1970
Burials 1832 - 1880

There are extracts from the Lane End registers in the IGI from 1832 to 1875.

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are in the libraries of the following societies who may be contacted for details of searches, copies and their associated costs:

Event Dates covered Contact
Marriages 1832 - 1837 Bucks Genealogical Society
Burials 1832 - 1840 Bucks Genealogical Society

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Lane End showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Lane End, Holy Trinity 188 - Morning General Congregation
171 - Morning Sunday Scholars
359 - Morning Total

208 - Afternoon General Congregation
171 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
379 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lane End which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lane End to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lane End has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

In 1927 "The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire" states as follows:

The parish of Lane End formed from Great Marlow, Hambleden, Fingest and West Wycombe has an area of 1270 acres. The soil is sandy and the subsoil gravelly, producing crops of wheat and barley, but the inhabitants are principally engaged in the manufacture of chairs and in an iron foundry and agricultural works. The parish is served by the church of the Holy Trinity on Ditchfield Common. There is also a Wesleyan chapel built in 1865 and a Gospel mission hall dating from 1888 at Moor End. [© copyright of the editors of The Victoria Histories of the Counties of England]

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The origin of the name Lane End is self explanatory.