Lathbury

"Lathbury (Newport Pagnell, 1 m.) - in Domesday, Latesberie - is a small village in a parish on a fertile track enclosed in a loop of the Ouse, which, touching Newport Pagnell, turns then in a direction opposite its former course. The church and Lathbury House, the latter rebuilt at the beginning of the 19th cent., stand at the end of a lane S. of the Newport Pagnell and Northampton main road." [Buckinghamshire, by E.S. Roscoe]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire", E.S. Roscoe, London Methuen & Co Ltd, 1935.
"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Newport Hundred, Volume 1", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Lathbury have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Newport Hundred, Volume 1", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 66 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £19.11.7 of which sum Sir William Andrews kt. contributed £13.6.8

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 27 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Lathbury.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 189 inhabitants in 31 families living in 25 houses recorded in Lathbury.

Census Year Population of Lathbury
1801* 189
1811* 177
1821* 164
1831* 172
1841 127
1851 147
1861 147
1871 136
1881 121
1891 152
1901 188

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lathbury area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for All Saints, Lathbury have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1690 - 1812
Marriages 1694 - 1839
Burials 1690 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1690 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Lathbury showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Lathbury, All Saints 64 - Morning General Congregation
40 - Morning Sunday Scholars
104 - Morning Total

48 - Afternoon General Congregation
40 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
88 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lathbury which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lathbury to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lathbury has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Lathbury was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LATHBURY, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies a mile north of Newport-Pagnell, near the road to Northampton. There are two manors in this parish, one of which, called the Abbey-manor, passed by a female heir from the family of Bidun to the Gatisdens, who gave it in the year 1272 to Lavendon-abbey. At the restoration it was granted, together with the impropriate tithes and the advowson of the curacy or donative, to Chist-Church College, in Oxford. The other manor was also in the Biduns, and afterwards successively in the families of Albini, Sadelyng, Stanes, and Vaux: on the attainder of Lord Vaux, it was given to Sir Ralph Hastings, from whom it passed by a female heir to the noble family of Grey. It was sold William Lord Grey, to the Marquis of Northampton, and by him to the family of Cave, from whom it passed by marriage to the Newdegates and Hampdens. The Andrewes family became possessed of it by purchase about the year 1599: Henry Andrewes esq. of Lathbury, was created a baronet in 1661; the title is extinct. The manor is now in moieties, between Mansell Dawkins Mansell esq. and Mrs. Margaret Dalway, under the will of Mrs. Jane Symes, whose mother purchased of the representatives of the Andrewes family. Mr. Mansell has lately built a new house, in which he resides, on the site of a mansion, which was erected in or about the reign of James I. by Sir Wm. Andrewes knt. In the church are some memorials of the Andrewes family. The late learned Dr. Chelsum, who distinguished himself as a defender of Christianity against the attacks of Gibbon the hisorian, had for some time the donative of Lathbury, which is, as before observed,in the patronage of the dean and chapter of Christ-Church. The college always grants the incumbent a beneficial lease of the great tithes.

Anthony Cave founded a grammar-school at Lathbury, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and endowed it with 12 l. per annum, for a master to be nominated by Christ-Church College, and gave two exhibitions of 6 l. each to the scholars, one of whom was to be of Christ-Church. This endowment has been lost: the school-house was pulled down in 1698, and the materials used in repairing the curate's dwelling.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Lathbury is believed to derive from the old english lætt + burh, and means ' fortification built with laths or beams'.