Lillingstone Dayrell

"This parish covers 1873 acres, of which 1267 acres are permanent grass, 261 arable, and 74 woods and plantations. The soil is clay. A stream borders the east side of the parish, flowing southward, and is joined about half-way down by a small tributary. The land rises from about 300 ft. above the ordnance datum in the south-east to over 500 ft. in the extreme north-west." [© copyright of the editors of The Victoria Histories of the Counties of England]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Buckingham Hundred, Volume 7", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Lillingstone Dayrell have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Buckingham Hundred, Volume 7", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 17 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £1.7.10 of which sum Peter Dayrell sen esq contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 27 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Lillingstone Dayrell.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 111 inhabitants in 22 families living in 22 houses recorded in Lillingstone Dayrell.

Census Year Population of Lillingstone Dayrell
1801* 111
1811* 132
1821* 127
1831* 150
1841 187
1851 207
1861 198
1871 250
1881 275
1891 273
1901 259

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Nicholas of Myra, Lillingstone Dayrell have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1584 - 1812
Marriages 1584 - 1980
Burials 1584 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1584 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1584 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1584 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Lillingstone Dayrell showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Lillingstone Dayrell,
St Nicholas of Myra
40 - Morning General Congregation
23 - Morning Sunday Scholars
63 - Morning Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Lillingstone Dayrell which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lillingstone Dayrell to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lillingstone Dayrell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Lillingstone Dayrell was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LILLINGSTONE-DAYRELL, in the hundred and deanery of Buckingham, lies nearly five miles to the north of the county-town. The manor belonged anciently to the Giffards, Earls of Buckingham, from them it passed, by female heirs to the Bolbecs and Veres, under whom, as lords of the fee, it was held, at a very early period, by the ancient family of Dayrell, who came over with William the Conqueror. The settled at Lillingstone before the year 1200, and before 1306, became possessed of the fee of the manor, which has ever since continued in the family by lineal descent in the male line, being now the property of Paul Dayrell esq.

In the parish church is the monument of Dorothy Haddon, (of the Dayrell family,) mother of Dr. Walter Haddon, one of the masters of requests in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, who employed him in various embassies. We are told that he was in great esteem for his eloquence and learning. Some of his works are extant, among which is a volume of Latin Poems. He was the author of numerous epitaphs on eminent persons of his time: that on his mother, in Lillingstone church, is not a very favourable specimen of his poetical talents. In this church are several memorials of the Dayrells, the most ancient is the tomb of Paul Dayrell, who died in 1491; the latest, that of Richard Dayrell esq. who died in 1801, being the thirty-first male heir of the family. Mr. Dayrell is patron of the rectory.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The first part of the name Lillingstone Dayrell derives from the old english Lytlinga-stan and means 'stone of the people of Lytel or Lytla'. The second part is the name of the family who held the manor.