Linslade

"LINSLADE, with SOUTHCOTE. The name of this place has been conjecturally derived from the Saxon Len, a spring, and lade, a little hill. A spring of ancient celebrity undoubtebly caused the place to become noted, and seems to render the supposition of that origin plausible: but it has also been conjectured to derive its name from linge, a vegetable production abounding in the vicinity of the slade, or glade, between the irregular eminences, near and through which the Ousel takes its course; and on the eastern bank of which stream, opposite to Linslade, the Heath, which covers the surface of an extensive track on the verge of Bedfordshire, imparts its name to a little hamlet. In either case, such an origin would support the reasonable opinion, that, from the natural objects and features of a country, the names of its villages and districts are often derived. The parish is bounded, on the North, by Soulbury and part of Leighton, Co. Bedford, which is also its boundary on the East; Grove, on the South; and Wing and Soulbury, on the West. It contains about 1580 acres; the meadows, bordering the Ousel, making a very small proportion of the whole. The surface varies from 274 feet in the lower grounds, to 485 feet on the hills, above the level of the sea; the soil there being chiefly clay, capped with a thin stratum of gravel, and chalky fragments washed from the Chiltern Hills; but in the valleys, it is sandy, and interspersed with springs and bogs." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 25 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £8.12.6 of which sum Sir Vincent Corbett kt bart contributed £5.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 43 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Linslade with its Members.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 203 inhabitants in 37 families living in 35 houses recorded in Linslade.

Census Year Population of Linslade
1801* 203
1811* 281
1821* 370
1831* 407
1841 883
1851 1309
1861 1511
1871 1633
1881 1724
1891 1982
1901 2157

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1841 - Full transcription for Linslade is available free online - click here to see
  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for Linslade have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1690 - 1960
Marriages 1690 - 1970
Banns 1783 - 1976
Burials 1718 - 1974

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1575 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Linslade showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Linslade, St Barnabas 118 - Morning General Congregation
52 - Morning Sunday Scholars
170 - Morning Total

206 - Evening General Congregation
206 - Evening Total

Linslade,
The Bethnal Particular
Baptist Chapel
69 - Morning General Congregation
69 - Morning Total

90 - Afternoon General Congregation
90 - Afternoon Total

108 - Evening General Congregation
108 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Linslade which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Linslade to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Linslade has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Linslade was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LINCHLADE, in the hundred of Cotslow and deanery of Muresley, lies on the borders of Bedfordshire, about two miles north-west of Leighton-Buzzard. It had formerly a market on Thursdays, granted to William de Beauchamp in 1251. A fair was granted by the same charter, to be held for eight days at Lady-day. About that time there was a great resort of pilgrims, and frequent processions made to a holy well at Linchlade, which were prohibited in 1299, by a mandate of Oliver Sutton, bishop of Lincoln, who severly censures such resort to a profane (meaning, it is probable) an unconsecrated place. The vicar, who, for his own emolument, had encouraged these pilgrims, was cited to appear in the bishop's court. The mandate is printed in Gunton's History of Peterborough.

The manor of Linchlade was anciently in the Beauchamps, barons of Bedford, from whom it passed, by a female heir, to the Mowbrays. It was held under them by the family of Lucy, from whom it passed, by marriage, to the Corbets. Sarah, widow of Sir Vincent Corbet bart. being possessed of this manor, was created Viscountess Linchlade, in 1675: the title was limited to her life. Linchlade is now the property of Andrew Corbet esq. The great tithes, which were given by Simon de Beauchamp, to the priory of Chicksand, are now the property of Mr. Corbet, who is patron of the donative. In the parish church is the monument of Major Charles Shipman, who died in 1797, at the age of 98.

Local history websites for Linslade

topup