Little Brickhill

"Little Brickhill is bounded, on the North, by Bow Brickhill; on the East, by Bedfordshire; on the South, by Great Brickhill; and on the West, by Fenny-Stratford, in Bletchley; containing about 1500 acres of land. The soil, like that of the adjacent Brickhills, is a red sand, intermixed with and based on clay. It appears to have acquired the distinctive appellation from the comparative small extent of the lands in the Parish, rather than the size of the Town; which although it was, during many ages, the place for holding the County Assizes, has no indications of having, at any time, been larger than at present. It consists chiefly of a single street of mean houses; amongst which are remaining only two small Inns, although deriving its principal support from travellers on the Great Chester Road, which intersects this parish from east to west. Little-Brickhill is nine miles from Dunstable, and equi-distant from Stoney-Stratford; having Bow-Brickhill about two miles from it, on the north, and Great-Brickhill the like, on the south." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", Peter Quick.

 

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Little Brickhill have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Cottesloe Hundred, Volume 2", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

 

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 76 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £4.10.6 of which sum Robert Seeleinge contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 87 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Little Brickhill.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 385 inhabitants in 94 families living in 80 houses recorded in Little Brickhill.

Census Year Population of Little Brickhill
1801* 339
1811* 325
1821* 429
1831* 431
1841 392
1851 427
1861 449
1871 411
1881 309
1891 304
1901 267

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

 

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Brickhill area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary Magdalen, Little Brickhill have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1559 - 1865
Marriages 1559 - 1837
Burials 1559 - 1912

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1559 - 1988
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1559 - 1988
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1559 - 1988
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Little Brickhill showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Little Brickhill,
St Mary Magdalen
74 - Morning General Congregation
71 - Morning Sunday Scholars
145 - Morning Total

104 - Evening General Congregation
68 - Evening Sunday Scholars
172 - Evening Total

Little Brickhill,
Wesleyan Chapel
70 - Afternoon General Congregation
30 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars

50 - Evening General Congregation
12 - Evening Sunday Scholars

 

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Brickhill which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Brickhill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Little Brickhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Little Brickhill was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LITTLE BRICKHILL, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, is nearly two miles distant from Fenny- Stratford, on the road from London to Liverpool. This village, although distinguished by the name of Little, has been a place of much more consequence, if not more populous, than Great Brickhill; having been formerly a market, and as assize town. The market, which was on Thursdays, seems to have been originally granted in 1228, to John de Gatesdon, confirmed in 1267, to Philip Lovel; in 1319, to Humphrey Lord Audley, and in 1441, to Humphrey Stafford, Earl of Buckingham. The charter of 1228 grants a fair for three days, at the festival of St. Mary Magdelen; that of 1267, a fair for three days, at the festival of St. Giles; that of 1319, a fair at the decollation of St. John the Baptist; and that of 1441, two fairs, one on the festival of St. Philip and St. James, the other on that of St. Luke: the only fair now held, is on the 18th of October. The assizes for the county appear to have been occasionally held at this town, from an early period. During the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and King James I. Little-Brickhill seems to have been considered as the assize town, and is so called in Saxton's map, published in 1574. Between the years 1561 and 1620, the names of 42 executed criminals appear among the burials in the parish register: the last time the assizes were held at Little-Brickhill was in 1638. The gallows is said to have been on the heath, about three furlongs out of the town, on the road to Woburn.

The market of Little-Brickhill has been long discontinued; it is probable that the town fell to decay on the assizes being removed: of late years, however, it has again increased in population. Browne Willis states the number of houses, in 1758, to have been 69; their number in 1801, as returned to parliament, was 84, of which four were uninhabited, that of the inhabitants, 385. Little-Brickhill is still a post town, being the stage between Woburn and Stony Stratford.

The manor of Little-Brickhill was anciently in the Giffards, Earls of Buckingham, from whom it passed by female heirs to the Lovells, Audleys, and Staffords. Having been seized by the crown, in consequence of an attainder, it was granted to Lord Marney, and afterwards to William Carey esq. Mr. Carey's son sold it to the Brocas family, from whom it passed by purchase to the Abdys, about the year 1636: Sir Anthony Abdy, about the year 1696, sold it to Sir Charles Duncombe, in whose family it continued many years: it is now the property of George Henry Rose esq.

A chapel adjoining the parish church was blown down by the high wind in 1703. The great tithes, which were appropriated to the abbey of Combwell, in Kent, are now annexed to the see of Canterbury, under which Mr. Philip Mills is, or was lately, lessee. The archbishop is patron of the benefice, which is a perpetual curacy. This parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament, passed in 1796, when allotments of land were assigned in lieu of tithes, and an allotment to the poor for fuel.

 

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Brickhill can be considered to also be composed of two parts, firstly, brik meaning top or summit, and the second part hill. The name Little being used as a distinguishing affix.