Loughton

"Loughton, a village and parish, situated a little northward of the principal turnpike-road, (which crosses the northern part of the County, from the Brickhills to Stoney-Stratford, in the line of the ancient Roman road, called Watling-Street,) nearly opposite to the 49th mile-stone from London, on a little stream, which, running south-west, passes through Bradwell to Wolverton, to join the River Ouse. It anciently consisted of two Manors and two Parishes, each having its respective Church, and distinct possessors, Rectors, and Patrons, under the denominations of Great and Little Loughton, until the union of the two Parishes, and their ecclesiastical consolidation, circ. 1408, in the reign of King Henry IV." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

  • War memorials in Loughton have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • War memorial details are also available online on the Roll of Honour web site.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 62 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £3.0.7 of which sum Mr Baker rector contributed £0.13.4

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 76 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Loughton.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 302 inhabitants in 63 families living in 58 houses recorded in Loughton.

Census Year Population of Loughton
1801* 302
1811* 288
1821* 293
1831* 325
1841 361
1851 335
1861 386
1871 359
1881 324
1891 348
1901 371

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Loughton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for All Saints, Loughton have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1720 - 1886
Marriages 1720 - 1993
Burials 1720 - 1963

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Loughton showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Loughton, All Saints No data for 30 March 1851
Loughton,
Baptist Chapel
30 - Morning Sunday Scholars

60 - Afternoon General Congregation

130 - Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Loughton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Loughton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Loughton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Loughton was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LOUGHTON, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies three miles south-east of Stony-Stratford, near the great road to London. The manor was in the family of Ardres, from 1358 to 1414, afterwards successively in the families of Rushby, Lucy, Hopper, and Crane. In 1655 it was sold, together with the manor of Little Loughton, (which had been successively in the families of Wolverton, Loughton, Edy, Pigot, and Crane,) to the Holts, who continued possessed of them till within these few years. They are now the property of Mr. Swan. The demesnes of the manor of Great Loughton were sold to the Alstons, and by them, about the year 1699, to the Hanslapes. They are now, by descent, the property of Mr. Gee, of Newport.

In the church are some memorials for the family of Crane. The master and scholars of Trinity College, in Cambridge, are patrons of the rectory. The parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament, passed in 1768, when an allotment of land was assigned to the rector in lieu of tithes.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Loughton derives from the old english Luhingtun and means 'Luha's farm'.