Quainton

(including Denham, Doddershall and Shipton Lee)

"The parish of Quainton, including the hamlets of Denham, Doddershall, and Shipton Lee extends over an area of 5368 acres, and contains a population of about 900 souls. The rateable value, exclusive of Shipton Lee, which is separately rated, is £4821. The Village is situatedabout 6 miles N.W. from Aylesbury, and about 5 S.W. of Winslow, at the southern base of a lofty hill on the N.E. border of the Vale of Aylesbury. From the S.E. it appears to be embosomed among trees, but the church is very conspicuous from a great distance, with a slope in the fore-ground. It is a large scattered village, and about its centre is a vacant piece of ground of nearly triangular form, called The Green." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Ashendon Hundred, Volume 5", Peter Quick and Bertrand Shrimpton.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Quainton have been transcribed by Peter Quick and Bertrand Shrimpton, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Ashendon Hundred, Volume 5", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus the following numbers of men between the ages of 16 and 60 are listed: Quainton - 139, Shipton Lee - 28 .

In the earliest government census of 1801, the following numbers of people were recorded:

  • Quainton - 750 inhabitants in 164 families living in 147 houses.
  • Shipton Lee - 120 inhabitants in 15 families living in 15 houses.
Census Year Population of
Quainton township
Population of
Shipton Lee hamlet
Total
Population
1801* 750 120 870
1811* 848 94 942
1821* 911 106 1017
1831* 952 104 1056
1841 966 115 1081
1851 854 91 945
1861 864 65 929
1871 858 63 921
1881 804 61 865
1891 807 78 885
1901 787 51 838

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Quainton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary & Holy Cross, Quainton have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1599 - 1943
Marriages 1599 - 1959
Burials 1599 - 1899

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1599 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1599 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1599 - 1881
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Quainton showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Quainton,
St Mary & Holy Cross
75 - Morning General Congregation
136 - Morning Sunday Scholars
211 - Morning Total

125 - Afternoon General Congregation
138 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
263 - Afternoon Total

Quainton,
Baptist Chapel
60 - Morning General Congregation
60 - Morning Sunday Scholars

60 - Afternoon General Congregation
60 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars

150 - Evening General Congregation
150 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Quainton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Quainton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Quainton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Quainton was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

QUAINTON, in the hundred of Ashendon and deanery of Waddesdon, lies about six miles and a half to the south west of Aylesbury. There are three manors in this parish, Denham, Dodershall, and Shipton-Lee, or Lee-Grange; one of these, but it is uncertain which, was, at an early period, in the families of Malet and Mussenden, and was then known by the name of Quainton-Malet. Denham, to which the advowson of the rectory was formerly annexed, is now the principal manor. It was many years ago the property and seat of the Iwardbys, afterwards of the Winwoods , from whom it passed by marriage to the noble family of Montagu. It is now the property of the Right Hon. Lord Francis Godolphin Osborne, a younger brother of the Duke of Leeds, to whom it came by bequest from the late Lord Godolphin. The house is inhabited by a tenant.

Dodershall belonged, in the reign of King Edward the Second, to a family of that name, afterwards to the Cranfords; of whom, about the year 1500, it was purchased by the ancestor of William Pigott esq. the present proprietor. It was for several years the seat of the dowager Viscountess Say and Sele, who held it in jointure from her second husband John Pigott esq.

Shipton-Lee, or Lee-Grange, was for many generations a seat of the Dormers; it was afterwards in the Plaistowes. About 1766, it became the propert of John Calcraft esq. the army agent; it now belongs to Thomas Quintin esq. of Hatley-St.George, in the county of Cambridge. At Lee-Grange was a chapel, now demolished.

In the parish church is a monument of the learned Orientalist Richard Brett, one of the translators of the Bible, and a fellow of Chelsea College, who was rector of Quainton from about the year 1595, till his death, which happened in 1637. The tomb of John Spencer, rector of this parish, who died in 1485, has his effigies on a brass plate of a large size in fine preservation. There are several monuments of the Dormers and Pigotts: among the former is that of Robert Dormer, one of the justices of the court of Common Pleas, who died in 1726, with his effigies in white marble, in his robes, and that of his widow in the attitude of a mourner. The monument of Sir Richard Pigott, who died in 1685, is a heavy piece of sculpture from a design of Leoni. In a chapel on the north side of the church is the monument of Richard Winwood esq. (son of Sir Ralph Winwood, King James's secretary) who died in 1688. He gave, by will, the sum of 200 l. to build eight alms-houses at this place for four widowers and four widows, and endowed them with lands in the parish for the payment of two shillings weekley to each, and providing them with gowns, &c.

The advowson is vested in the representatives of the late rector, Dr. Ekins, who died in 1791, being then dean of Carlisle.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Quainton derives from the old english words cwen + tun, and means 'The queen's farmstead or estate'.