Radclive

(including Chackmore)

"RADCLIVE-CUM-CHACKMORE PARISH. Radclive, Radcliffe, or Ratliff is said to derive its name from the colour of the soil, and an abrupt eminece near the course of the Ouse, by which the parish is intersected. Area, including the hamlet of Chackmore, 1190 acres; population, 356; rateable value £1671; soil, clay, and gravel. The Buckinghamshire Railway passes through the parish. The Village is small, but neat and cleanly, and stands in a hollow 1 1/2 mile W. of Buckingham... 
CHACKMORE HAMLET. - Chackmore, a compact and genteel village, 1 1/2 mile N.W. from Buckingham, is approached by the avenue leading from Buckingham to Stowe House. One of the cottages, having walls of stone and a thatched roof, bears the date of 1693. In the centre of the village is a large handsome elm tree. It is probable that Chackmore, or Chalkmore, had formerly a chapel."
[History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Buckingham Hundred, Volume 7", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Radclive have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Buckingham Hundred, Volume 7", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 41 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Radclive with Chackmore.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 252 inhabitants in 47 families living in 47 houses recorded in Radclive.

Census Year Population of Radclive
1801* 252
1811* 227
1821* 296
1831* 334
1841 364
1851 387
1861 356
1871 339
1881 367
1891 321
1901 295

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Radclive area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St John the Evangelist, Radclive have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1649 - 1944
Marriages 1608 - 1975
Burials 1591 - 1992

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1646 - 1846
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1600 - 1845
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1591 - 1854
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Radclive showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Radclive,
St John the Evangelist
41 - Morning General Congregation
18 - Morning Sunday Scholars
59 - Morning Total

88 - Afternoon General Congregation
22 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
110 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Radclive which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Radclive to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Radclive has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Radclive was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

RATCLIFFE, or RADCLIFFE, in the hundred and deanery of Buckingham, lies about a mile and a half west of the county-town. The manor belong in ancient times to the families of Iveri and St. Walery. From the latter it passed by a female heir to the family of St. Lis, some of whom were knights of the shire in the reigns of Edward II. and Edward III.: William of Wickham having purchased the manor of this family gave it to his newly founded college in Oxford.

The manor house was for some time a seat of the Dentons, afterwards of Sir William Smith bart. one of the representatives in parliament for the town of Buckingham, who made a park at Ratcliffe. It is now the property of Mr. Henry Smith of Charwelton in Oxfordshire.

The Marquis of Buckingham has a manor in this parish which belonged to the Temples.

The parish, which is called in ecclesiastical records Radcliffe cum Chackmore has been inclosed by an act of parliament passed in 1773, when an allotment was assigned to the rector in lieu of tithes, and a small allotment to the poor in lieu of their right to cut furze. The rectory is in the patronage of New college. It is probable that Chackmore, which is a hamlet of Ratcliffe, had formerly a chapel.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

  • Radclive - The name derives from the old english readan + clife and means 'red cliff' above the Ouse.
  • Chackmore - The name derives from the old english Ceacca + mor and means 'marshy ground of a man called Ceacca'.