Stantonbury

(later becoming New Bradwell)

"The old parish of Stantonbarry, or Stantonbury, contained but 750 acres, and about a dozen scattered houses. But by an Order in Council, dated July 16th, 1857, a new parish was formed by adding to the old one a portion of Bradwell. The area of the newly-formed parish is 904 acres. [This new parish was eventually named New Bradwell after the new town in the parish.New Bradwell is the name given to a rapidly rising village of some 2000 inhabitants, distant nearly a mile from New Wolverton - one of the chief locomotive stations on the London and North-Western Railway, the works connected with which provide the staple employment for the population of the place. This new settlement, though only founded somewhat more than three years previously, had arrived at so important a stage in its existence as to require a Church and School to be erected towards the end of the year 1860. The Railway Company have erected about 200 neat white brick houses on their estate here, for the accommodation of their workmen; and there are about 50 houses belonging to other parties. The place is distant about a mile from the old parish church of Stantonbury; and the old church stands about 3 miles W. by S. from Newport Pagnell, and a like distance N.E. from Stony Stratford." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Stantonbury have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there was one person, Sir Peter Temple, named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. He was assessed at £5.0.0.

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 8 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Stantonbury.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 39 inhabitants in 7 families living in 6 houses recorded in Stantonbury.

Census Year Population of
Stantonbury***
1801* 39
1811* 32
1821* 40
1831* 51
1841 42
1851 27
1861 29
1871 40
1881 35
1891 29
1901 41

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.
*** = The census figures for the town of New Bradwell has been included as part of the totals for Bradwell and not included in the above which are for the old parish

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for Stantonbury have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1666 - 1923
Marriages 1657 - 1939
Banns 1825 - 1949
Burials 1658 - 1951

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Stantonbury showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Stantonbury, St Peter 8 - Morning General Congregation
8 - Morning Total
topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stantonbury which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stantonbury to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stantonbury has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Stantonbury was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

STANTON-BARRY, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies about four miles north-east of Stony-Stratford. The manor was anciently in the family of Barry, from whom it passed by a female heir to that of Boveton. At a later period it belonged to the family of Vaux; and, having been vested in the crown by the attainder of Sir William Vaux, was granted, in 1467, to Richard Fowler esq. and his heirs male. Being again in the crown, it was granted to the Ashfields, from whom it passed by marriage to the families of Lea and Temple. In 1667, it was purchased of Sir John Temple by Sir John Wittewronge, who had been created a baronet in 1662. Sir John Wittewronge built a capital mansion at this place (of which there are now no remains) for the residence of his son. It continued to be a seat of the Wittewronges till 1727, when the estate was sold to Sarah Duchess of Marlborough, and the sale was confirmed by act of parliament. The duchess gave it to her grandson John Spencer esq. grandfather of the Right Hon. Earl Spencer, who is the present proprietor. Sir John Wittewronge, the last of the family who possessed this estate, was outlawed for murder of Mr. Griffith, a surgeon, and at length died in the Fleet prison of wounds received in an affray with a fellow prisoner. This opulent family having fallen to decay, Sir William Wittewronge, who succeeded to the title on the death of his unhappy brother in 1743, and was the last baronet, was appointed governor of the poor knights of Windsor.

In the parish church, which exhibits some remains of Saxon architecture, are some memorials for the families of Temple, Tyrrell, and Wittewronge.

Lord Spencer has the great tithes, which were formerly appropriated to the priory of Goring, in Oxfordshire, and is patron of the vicarage.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Stantonbury is composed of two parts. The first, 'Stanton' derives from the old english words stan + tun, and means 'farmstead on stony ground'. The second part 'bury' was actually 'Barry' originally, but in the 17th century it was changed by the then lord of the manor. In 1235 Radulfus Barri held the fee in Stanton, and his name is associated with the place from the 1300 onwards.