Stoke Goldington

(including the hamlet of Eakley Lanes)

"STOKE GOLDINGTON, including the hamlet of Eakley Lanes, contains 2061 acres, and about 900 inhabitants. Rateable value, £2749. The parish is bounded on the east by the river Ouse, and on the north and west by Northamptonshire. Lipscomb writes :- "The soil is a strong clay, with a portion of mould, as it is here termed, or rich loam, with strata of limestone near the surface; and gravel in those parts which border the Ouse, and clay intermixed. Abundance of oyster-shells are found in the arable land; and it is remarkable that none of them are flat, but all nearly of similar shape, with so deep a convexity, that when two are found united, they are frequently almost spherical. On the north of the village is a Roman Road, on which is a steep ascent, called Angur's or Orgar's Hill." The Village is large and compact, and is seated in a hollow, 4 1/2 miles W.S.W. from Olney, and 4 1/2 miles N.W. from Newport Pagnell - in the road from the latter town to Northampton." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Newport Hundred, Bucks, Volume 1", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 77 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £3.19.1 of which sum Mr Beelie parson contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 115 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Stoke Goldington.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 636 inhabitants in 147 families living in 132 houses recorded in Stoke Goldington.

Census Year Population of Stoke Goldington
1801* 636
1811* 617
1821* 818
1831* 912
1841 855
1851 902
1861 963
1871 875
1881 808
1891 767
1901 629

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stoke Goldington area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Peter, Stoke Goldington have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1538 - 1913
Marriages 1538 - 1950
Burials 1538 - 1858

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Stoke Goldington showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Stoke Goldington,
St Peter
200 - Afternoon General Congregation
106 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
306 - Afternoon Total
Stoke Goldington,
Independent Chapel
66 - Morning General Congregation
88 - Morning Sunday Scholars
154 - Morning Total

39 - Afternoon General Congregation
68 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
107 - Afternoon Total

114 - Evening General Congregation
64 - Evening Sunday Scholars
178 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stoke Goldington which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stoke Goldington to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stoke Goldington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Stoke Goldington was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

STOKE-GOLDINGTON, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies on the borders of Northamptonshire four miles and a half from Newport-Pagnell, in the road from that town to Northampton. There were anciently two manors, or moieties of manors, in this place; both of which are now the property of Miss Wrighte of Gothurst: one of these has passed by the same title as Gothurst; the other was anciently in the Peverells, whose heiress married into the family of Barentine: in 1344 it was given by the Barentines to the prior and convent of Ravenston. After the reformation, this estate became the property of the Mulso family; since which time it has passed in the same manner as the other estate. Miss Wrighte is patroness of the rectory, which was consolidated with Gothurst in 1736. The parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament passed in 1770, when an allotment of land was assigned to the rector in lieu of tithes &c. There is no charity school or alms-house in this parish.

Eakley, now united to Stoke-Goldington, was formerly a distinct parish, and had a chapel which was served once a month. There are two manors in Eakley; one of these, called Wolf's-fields, was purchased of the late Lord Winchelsea by the trustees of Dr. Busby's charities. Miss Wrighte's manor of Stoke is held under this manor by a quit rent of 2s. 4d. per annum. The other manor, called Eakley-Lane, was many years in the family of Lane, and is now held in trust for the representatives of the late Charles Lane, of St. Thomas street, Southwark, by Henry Cline esq. Another manor near Stoke-Goldington, called Gorefields, is extra-parochial; it is now the property of Miss Wrighte, whose father purchased it of the Wilkinsons.

[Correction/Addition at the end of Magna Britannia states "The manor Eakley-Lane was sold, in 1804, to Sir Robert Gunning bart."]

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

  • Stoke Goldington - The first part of this name derives from the old english word stoc, and means 'outlying farmstead or hamlet'. The second part, 'Goldington', derives from Peter of Goldington (Bedfordshire), who was an important tenant of the Honour of Peveral of Nottingham, to which the greater part of this place belonged.
  • Eakley Lanes - The name derives from the old english words Iccan + leah, and means 'Icca's clearing'.